Kalinga Lancers beat Dabang Mumbai to lift maiden Hockey India League title

Kalinga Lancers were able to finish at the second best position in the 2016 Hockey India League. The team lost the finals of 2016 against Jaypee Punjab Warriors.

Feb 17, 2017 14:14 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Kalinga Lancers won Hockey India League TitleKalinga Lancers on 26 February 2017 lifted the fifth edition Hockey India League title. In the finals played at Chandigarh, Kalinga Lancers defeated Dabang Mumbai 4-1.

With this win, the winners Kalinga Lancers claimed the cash prize of Rs 2.5 crore and the runners-up received Rs 1.25 crore.

Goal scorers in the finals of Hockey India League title

• Moritz Fuerste (Skipper Kalinga Lancers): Scored two goals via penalty corners

• Glenn Turner (Kalinga Lancers): Struck a field effort for the Odisha outfit

• Affan Yousuf (Dabang Mumbai): Scored the lone goal from a penalty corner variation

Besides, Uttar Pradesh Wizards claimed the bronze medal. In the semi-finalist, UP Wizards beat Delhi Waveriders 5-4. Agustin Mazzilli’s late field goal helped Uttar Pradesh Wizards to win the semi-final match over Delhi Waveriders.

Other results of the tournament included

• Fair play trophy: The trophy went to the Bhubaneswar-based Kalinga Lancers for displaying excellent skills and team work.

• Emerging player of the league: the award went to Mumbai Dabang’s Harmanpreet Singh. With this win, Singh, a part of the Junior World Cup winning squad, received a cash award of Rs 20 lakh. He scored seven goals in the tournament.

Germany's Moritz Fuerste, who is the captain of the Kalinga Lancers, and Australia’s Glenn Turner finished the league as the joint highest scorers with 12 goals each.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए