Lewis Hamilton wins Canadian Grand Prix for sixth time

Jun 13, 2017 09:18 IST

Lewis Hamilton wins Canadian Grand Prix for sixth time

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton on 11 June 2017 won the Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix 2017 held at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

Hamilton was followed by Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel. The third position was grabbed by Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo.

About Lewis Hamilton

Born on 7 January 1985, Lewis Hamilton is a British Formula One racing driver.

At present, he is racing for the Mercedes AMG Petronas team.

He is a three-time Formula One World Champion.

He won his first title with McLaren in 2008 before moving to Mercedes, where he won back-to-back titles in 2014 and 2015.

His 56 Grand Prix victories is the second highest of all-time, behind only Michael Schumacher at 91.

CA eBook

About Canadian Grand Prix

The Canadian Grand Prix is an annual auto race held in Canada since 1961.

It has been part of the Formula One World Championship since 1967.

It was first staged at Mosport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario as a sports car event.

In 2005, the Canadian Grand Prix was the most watched Formula One GP in the world. The race was also the third most watched sporting event worldwide, behind the first place Super Bowl XXXIX and the UEFA Champions League Final.

Quick Digest

Who: Lewis Hamilton

What: Won Canadian Grand Prix

When: 11 June 2017

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Canadian Grand Prix , Formula One , Lewis Hamilton , Sebastian Vettel

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK