Mahendra Singh Dhoni steps down as Captain of India ODI and T20I teams

The ace Indian cricketer also informed BCCI that he will be available for selection for the upcoming series against England. However, he would not be continuing in the skipper's role.

Created On: Jan 5, 2017 09:32 ISTModified On: Jan 5, 2017 12:12 IST

Mahendra Singh DhoniThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on 4 January 2017 announced that Mahendra Singh Dhoni stepped down as the Captain of the Indian One Day International (ODI) and T20I cricket teams.

The ace Indian cricketer also informed BCCI that he will be available for selection for the upcoming series against England. However, he would not be continuing in the skipper's role.

Earlier in December 2014, Dhoni had suddenly quit Test captaincy during the Australia tour in Melbourne.

CA eBook

Mahendra Singh Dhoni: The most successful Indian captain ever

Born on 7 July 1981, Mahendra Singh Dhoni captained the Indian team in limited-overs formats from 2007 to 2016. He served as the Captain of Indian Test team from 2008 to 2014.

He is acknowledged as one of the greatest finishers in limited-overs cricket.

He made his ODI debut in December 2004 against Bangladesh.

He played his first Test in 2005 against Sri Lanka.

In 2007, he took over the ODI captaincy from Rahul Dravid. After that, Dhoni led the team to its first-ever bilateral ODI series wins in Sri Lanka and New Zealand.

Under his captaincy, India won the 2007 ICC World Twenty20, the CB Series of 2007–2008, the 2010 Asia Cup, the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup and the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.

He holds the record of most wins by an Indian captain in Tests and ODIs.

He also holds the record of most back-to-back wins by an Indian captain in ODIs.

In June 2013, he became the first captain to win all three ICC limited-overs trophies (World Cup, Champions Trophy and the World Twenty20) when India defeated England in the final of the Champions Trophy in England.

He took up the Test captaincy in 2008. Thereafter, India won series matches in New Zealand and West Indies, and the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 2008, 2010 and 2013.

Under his captaincy, Indian team was ranked number one for the first time in the ICC Test rankings in 2009.

In 2013, under his captaincy, India became the first team in more than 40 years to beat Australia in a Test series.

He captained India in 199 ODIs, winning 110 and losing 74, with four ties and 11 no-results. He has a winning percentage of 59.57.

He captained Indian team in 72 T20 Internationals, winning 41 and losing 28, with one tie and two no-results.

In 2011, Time magazine included him in its annual Time 100 list as one of the Most Influential People in the World.

In June 2015, he was ranked 23rd by Forbes in the list of highest paid athletes in the world.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

6 + 0 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all