Meb Keflezighi won Boston Marathon 2014

Meb Keflezighi and Rita Jeptoo won the Boston Marathon 2014 in male and female category, respectively.

Apr 22, 2014 12:30 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Meb KeflezighiMeb Keflezighi on 21 April 2014 became the first US male athlete to win the Boston Marathon in three decades (since 1983). The women winner of the marathon was Rita Jeptoo of Kenya and this was her second consecutive win at the Boston Marathon.
Second and third winner among the male runners - Wilson Chebet and Frankline Chepkwony of Kenya
Second and third winner among the women - Buzunesh Deba and Mare Dibaba both of Ethiopia

This year 35755 runners from 96 countries participated in the Marathon.

Keflezighi was born in Eritrea but at present is an US citizen. He became US citizen in 1998 and ran for his country in three Olympics and had won a silver medal in 2004. He also won the New York Marathon and is the first American to do so in 27 years. He migrated to the United States at the age of 12 with his family. They migrated to US to escape a life of poverty and violent war with Ethiopia.

About Boston Marathon
Boston Marathon is an annual event and is held on Patriots Day i.e. the third Monday of April. It started in 1897. It is world’s oldest annual marathon and is ranked as one of the world’s best-known road racing events. It is one of six World Marathon Majors and is hosted by several cities in Greater Boston in eastern Massachusetts.

Earlier on 15 April 2013, the event witnessed explosion of two pressure cooker bombs in which 3 people were killed and estimated 264 others were injured. This year’s marathon honoured three killed and more than 260 injured in a bomb attack of 2013.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए