Meet 17th Lok Sabha new Speaker: Om Birla

Om Birla has elected as Speaker of Lok Sabha. Om Birla has succeeded Sumitra Mahajan who decided not to contest Lok Sabha elections in 2019.

Created On: Jun 19, 2019 11:37 ISTModified On: Jun 19, 2019 12:19 IST
Om Birla

Om Birla has become Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha, he is two time BJP member of Parliament (MP) from Rajasthan. Om Birla has succeeded Sumitra Mahajan who decided not to contest Lok Sabha elections in 2019. Now, Virendra Kumar’s role has been ceased to exist.

In Lok Sabha elections 2019 Om Birla defeated Congress's Ramnarayan Meena with a big margin of over 2.5 lakh votes in the Kota-Bundi Lok Sabha seat. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah had collectively selected Om Birla's name as their choice for the post of the Lok Sabha Speaker.

PM Modi in Lok Sabha about Om Birla

Speaking in Lok Sabha about Om Birla PM Modi said that from helping the poor to assisting the homeless, Birla has always played the role of a humanitarian before politician. Prime Minister Narendra Modi praised Om Birla for the development of his Lok Sabha constituency Kota.

Also PM Modi said in Lok Sabha that the Speaker has the duty to guide the House through tough moments of logjam and acute differences. He told the Speaker that he will be free to even scold him or people from the Treasury Benches if ever they misbehave.

Om Birla’s political career at a glance
•    Om Birla (born 23 November 1962) is an MP from the Kota-Bundi constituency of Rajasthan state. He was a three time Member of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly from Kota South. He is currently in the race for Lok Sabha 17th lok sabha speaker post.
•    Om Birla won his first assembly elections contesting from Kota South in 2003. He defeated Shanti Dhariwal from Congress by a margin of 10,101 votes.
•    Before becoming a Member of Parliament, he won his third assembly election against Pankaj Mehta (Congress) by close to 50,000 votes in 2013.
•    He contested the 16th Lok Sabha elections from Kota-Bundi constituency and secured a victory by a margin of 2,000,782 against a Congress candidate in 2014.
•    Apart from this, he was a member of the Standing Committee on Energy in Parliament, member of Committee on Petitions and Consultative Committee for Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment.


Also Read: Ushoshi Sengupta: who narrated her harassment story

Also Read: Facebook’s Libra Cryptocurrency: When and how will be able to use?

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 3 =