Meet BJP working President: J P Nadda

J P Nadda has been appointed as working president of the Bharatiya Janata Party. Decision was taken in a BJP parliamentary board meeting.

Created On: Jun 18, 2019 09:51 IST
J P Nadda appointed as working President of BJP
J P Nadda appointed as working President of BJP

J P Nadda has appointed as BJP's working president during the party's parliamentary board meeting on June 17, 2019. Parliamentary board is highest decision-making body of the BJP. This is for the first time that the BJP has appointed a working president however Amit Shah will remain BJP chief.

The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, home minister Amit Shah and defence minister Rajnath Singh, who are all members of the BJP’s parliamentary board. J P Nadda’s appointment as the working president of the ruling party was being speculated after he was not made a member of the Union council of ministers. J P Nadda was in-charge of UP for 2019 Lok Sabha elections and BJP performed impressively in the state.

About Political rise of J P Nadda
•    J P Nadda was first elected to the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly in the election of 1993, he was subsequently re-elected in 1998.
•    After Prem Kumar Dhumal formed a Himachal Pradesh government, he inducted Nadda in his cabinet, as cabinet minister responsible for Forest, Environment, Science and Technology, from 2008 to 2010.
•    In 2012, he got elected to Rajya Sabha but before that Nadda was brought to the national team by Nitin Gadkari in 2010.
•    Nadda had stepped down as a forest minister owing to his differences with CM Dhumal. Come 2012, and he was chosen unopposed as the Rajya Sabha member from Himachal Pradesh.
•    In 2014, during a cabinet reshuffle, Prime Minister Narendra Modi made Nadda, the Minister of Health.
•    He started his political career as a student leader of the ABVP in Bihar and has closely worked with Narendra Modi, Amit Shah and Nitin Gadkari. Those days his father was serving as the vice-chancellor of the Patna University.
•    J P Nadda was appointed as the president of the BJP’s youth wing, the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM) in 1991 at the age of 31.

List of BJP Presidents





Atal Bihari Vajpayee



L. K. Advani



Murli Manohar Joshi



L. K. Advani



Kushabhau Thakre



Bangaru Laxman



Jana Krishnamurthi



Venkaiah Naidu



L. K. Advani



Nitin Gadakari



Rajnath Singh



Amit Shah

2014 to Present


J P Nadda

2019 to Present

Also Read: Encephalitis kills 100 kids in Bihar, doctors claim extreme heat and humidity

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

9 + 8 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all