Netherlands won the 2014 edition of Women’s Hockey World Cup

Netherlands won the Women’s World Cup 2014 in The Hague, Netherlands.

Created On: Jun 16, 2014 11:13 ISTModified On: Jun 17, 2014 12:31 IST

Netherlands won the 2014 edition of Women’s Hockey World Cup held in The Hague, Netherlands on 14 June 2014. It defeated Australia 2-0 in the final. This is Netherlands seventh title. It previously won the titles in 1974, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1990 and 2006.

Argentina won the Bronze medal by defeating the USA 2-1 in the finals. This was the Argentina's fourth successive medal in the World Cup. Argentina won the title in 2002 and 2010, and bagged a Bronze in 2006.

Captain of Netherlands: Maartje Paumen
Captain of Australia: Madonna Blyth

Best Goal of the Tournament: Kim Lammers of Netherlands
Hero Top Scorer: Maartje Paumen (seven goals)
Best Player of the Tournament: Ellen Hoog of Netherlands
Best Goal Keeper of the Tournament: Rachael Lynch of Australia
Young Player of the Tournament: Florencia Martina Habif of Argentina

About Women’s Hockey World Cup
Women's Hockey World Cup was held for the first time in 1974. It was organised by the International Federation of Women's Hockey Associations (IFWHA) until 1981. The Event is organized every four years by the International Hockey Federation since 1982.

The 2010 edition was held in New Delhi.

2014 Men’s and Women’s Hockey World Cup was held simultaneously in The Hague, Netherlands. It was the third time that the Netherlands hosted the Women's World Cup after 1986 and 1998.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 7 =