Jagran Josh Logo
  1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule |  

Prime Minister's Shram Awards for the Year 2012 Announced

Aug 15, 2013 10:41 IST

The Union Government on 14 August 2013 announced the Prime Minister’s Shram Awards for the year 2012 to be awarded to 70 workers employed in the Departmental Undertakings & Public Sector Undertakings of the Central and State Governments and Private Sector Units employing 500 or more workers in recognition of their distinguished performances, innovative abilities, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind.

This year, one nomination for the prestigious Shram Ratna Award, eight nominations for the Shram Bhushan Award, twenty nominations for Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana and forty one nominations for Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards have been selected. Even though, the total number of Shram Awards is 33, the number of workers receiving the Awards is 70 (Including 3 women), as some of the Awards have been shared by workers and/or teams of workers consisting of more than one worker. These include 48 workers from the public sector and 22 workers from the private sector.

This is the highest Award (one in number) among the Shram Awards and carries a cash award of 200000 rupees along with a Sanad. For the year 2012, the prestigious Shram Ratna Award has been awarded to Subrata Kumar from Tata Steel Ltd., Jameshedpur.

Total number of Shram Bhushan Awardees is Eight. It carries a cash award of 100000 rupees and a Sanad.  Eight nominations were found suitable for the Shram Bhushan Award for the year 2012 in respect of Public Sector Undertaking and Private Sector are given to Subhash Muralidhar Wadkar from Naval Dockyard, Mumbai, Sanjay Kumar from DRDO, Dewendra Kumar Dikshit, Abhijit Das Gupta, Pravas Chandra Panda, Yogesh Kumar Verma and Bijay Kishore Mishra (Jointly) all from Tata Steel Ltd., Jameshedpur and Annie Antony from Tata Steel Ltd., Jameshedpur.

Total number of Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana Awardees is twenty. It carries a cash award of 60000 rupees and a Sanad. No female worker from Privte Sector,  for the Shram Bhushan Award for the year 2012 The Shram Veer/Veerangana Shtam Awards in respect of Public Sector Undertaking and Private Sector are given to Smt. K. Uma from Bharat Heavy Electrical Ltd. Bangaluru Shri Shantanu Suresh Shinde from Rashtriya Chemicals and Fertilizers Ltd, S/Shri Guleshwar Prasad Sahu, Gulab Chaturvedi, Liladhar Prasad and Shri Anil Kumar (Jointly) all from  Bhilai Steel Plant, Bhilai, Shri Gokada Udaya Bhaskar from Visakhapatnam Steel Plant, B. Selvam from Southern Railway, Chennai, S/Shri Lallu Prasad, R. Vasudeo Rao, Mohammad Aftab Alam, Arun Kumar Soni and Krishna Kumar Deshmukh (Jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant, Shri Biju Mathew from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur, Shri Salat Ghanshyam Gopichand from Larsen & Toubro Ltd., Surat (Gujrat), Shri Vasant Gangadhar Bhandurge from Tata Motors Ltd., Pune, Malay kumar Pathak and Ramesh Chandra Jain (Jointly) both from Reliance Industries Ltd., Mumbai, Shri Shrinivas Kondiba Kalamkar from Bajaj Auto Ltd., Aurangabad and Shri Pramod Harichandra Nagdeve from Ashok Leyland Ltd., Godegaon (Maharashtra)

Total number of Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awardees is forty one. It carries a cash award of 40000 rupees and a Sanad. One female workers from Public sector have been selected for Shram Devi Awards for this year. The Shram Shree/Shram Devi awardees in respect of Public Sector Undertakings and Private Sector are  Shri Ranjeet Singh Katiyar from Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. Kanpur, S/Shri Ashok Kumar Dabas, Devraj and Lakshmi Chand (Jointly) all from NTPC, Badarpur, New Delhi, S/Shri Pushkar Singh Adhikari, Narayan Prasad Bajpai, Devinder Pal Singh Brar, Gopi Chand Barmate, Sanjay Kumar Tiwari, Murchanju and Roop Singh (Jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant, Smt. K. UdayaKumari from Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd., Bangaluru, Shri Gajanan N. Malusare from Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd., Mumbai, S/Shri Bhagabata Pradhan, Prakash Kumar Nath, Ramesh Chandra Raula, Arakshita Adak, Chandra Bhanu Munda, Basanta Kumar Das, Bhabani Shankar Pati, Bidhan Chandra Naik and Ananta Kumar Sethi (Jointly) all from Rourkela Steel Plant, S/Shri Pramod Shrivastava, Liladhar Dadwe, Shailesh Kumar Chhandrakar, Bansilal and Kamal Tayade (Jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant, S/Shri Shivnandan Prasad Naik, Dibyendu Mitra, Ashok Kumar Soni, Bhupendra Kumar Dhruw and Sanju Lal Goel (Jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant, Shri Raja Ram Yadav from Hindalco Industries Ltd, Renukoot (UP), S/Shri Manoj Kumar Sahoo and Pradeep Kumar Pani (Jointly) from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur, Shri Dharmendra Nath Mishra from Hindalco Industres  Ltd, Sonebhadhra (UP), Shri Ramesh Kishanprasad Tiwari from Bajaj Auto Ltd., Aurangabad, Shri Deshmukh Rakesh Bhaskar Rao from Tata Motors Ltd., Pune, Shri Harekrushna Kamila from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur, Shri Harindra Prasad Srivastava from Hindalco industries Ltd., Renukoot, Sonebhadra (UP) and Shri Erachari from L&T – Komatsu Ltd, Bangaluru.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes60 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Shram awards , Prime Minister , workers

DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Newsletter Signup
Follow us on
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK