Top 10 Weekly Current Affairs: 17 June to 22 June 2019

Om Birla has become Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha, succeeding Sumitra Mahajan, who decided not to contest Lok Sabha elections in 2019.

Created On: Jun 22, 2019 15:09 ISTModified On: Jun 22, 2019 15:26 IST

Yoga Day 2019: PM Modi Yoga address-10 Key Points

International Yoga Day 2019: Prime Minister Narendra Modi led fifth International Yoga Day 2019 at Prabhat Tara Ground, Ranchi. He led to around 40,000 people in Ranchi to mark International yoga Day. Union Ministers, BJP leaders and top government functionaries participated in similar events across the country.

Sanjiv Bhatt sentenced to life imprisonment in 1990 custodial death case

Sanjiv Bhatt, an ex-Gujarat-cadre IPS officer, who was sacked from services in 2015, has been sentenced to life by Jamnagar court today. He was found guilty in a 30-year-old custodial death case. Another police officer Praveen Singh Jhala has also been sent to prison for life. Sanjiv Bhatt was posted as the additional superintendent of police in Jamnagar when this custodial death case was happened in year 1990.

Budget Session 2019: 15 key points of President Kovind's joint Parliament address

President Ramnath Kovind addressed joint sitting of Parliament on June 20, 2019. He outlined the Modi govt's goals for next five years. President Kovind highlighted various efforts and initiatives taken by Modi govt for nation's development. The Union Budget 2019 will be presented in the Lok Sabha on July 5. However, Economic Survey of India will be tabled, a day before the budget presentation, to present the annual financial snapshots.

Meet 17th Lok Sabha new Speaker: Om Birla
Om Birla has become Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha, he is two time BJP member of Parliament (MP) from Rajasthan. Om Birla has succeeded Sumitra Mahajan who decided not to contest Lok Sabha elections in 2019. Now, Virendra Kumar’s role has been ceased to exist. In Lok Sabha elections 2019 Om Birla defeated Congress's Ramnarayan Meena with a big margin of over 2.5 lakh votes in the Kota-Bundi Lok Sabha seat.

Shikhar Dhawan ruled out of World Cup 2019 due to thumb fracture
Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out of ICC World Cup 2019 due to a thumb injury. Rishabh Pant has been included in the Indian Cricket team as a replacement of Shikhar Dhawan. Shikhar Dhawan was injured during match against Australia at The Oval. He Scored magnificent 117 runs in that match. Shikhar Dhawan suffered the hairline injury after being hit by a Pat Cummins delivery. His X-ray didn't show any fracture but CT scan revealed details of injury otherwise and Dhawan was taken to a specialist for further assessment.

Facebook’s Libra Cryptocurrency: When and how will be able to use?
Facebook has unveiled its much awaited cryptocurrency Libra on June 18, 2019. Facebook announced “Project Libra,” as a new type of digital money designed for the billions of people using its apps and social network. After a specific time users will be able to shop with Libra and send this currency on Messenger and Instagram.

India vs Pakistan: Virat Kohli becomes fastest to score 11,000 ODI runs

Virat Kohli has become fastest batsman to score 11,000 runs in one-day internationals cricket. He grabbed this position after scoring a fifty Pakistan on June 16, 2019. Kohli broke the record of Sachin Tendulkar, who reached at this milestone in 276 innings. Tendulkar is followed by former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting who reached the milestone in 286 innings, and Sourav Ganguly in 288 innings.

Meet Miss India 2019 winner: Suman Rao

Suman Rao, Miss India Rajasthan was crowned the winner of Femina Miss India World 2019 during a star-studded grand finale of the beauty pageant, held on June 15, 2019 at the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Indoor Stadium in Mumbai. Miss India 2019 winner Rao was crowned Miss India World 2019 by her predecessor, Miss India 2018 Anukreethy Vas from Tamil Nadu.

Femina Miss India Grand Finale 2019: Suman Rao crowned Miss India 2019, Shivani Jadhav Miss Grand India and Shreya Shanker Miss India United Continents

Femina Miss India Grand Finale 2019 Updates: The Grand Finale of Femina Miss India 2019 beauty was held on June 15, 2019 at Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Indoor Stadium, Mumbai.Suman Rao was crowned Femina Miss India 2019. Shivani Jadhav was crowned Femina Miss Grand India 2019 and Shreya Shanker was crowned Miss India United Continents 2019.

Pakistani fans troll their own team on Twitter, after India thrashed Pakistan in World Cup 2019

After India’s seventh consecutive win over Pakistan at Old Trafford in Manchester on June 16, twitter exploded with reactions from Pakistani fans bashing their own team. A number of hilarious videos, pictures and tweets emerged, where Pakistan fans blamed their national team for their dismal performance. While India’s victory was enthralling, what was more entertaining was the twitter reaction from Pakistan’s fans post Pakistan’s humiliating defeat.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

7 + 8 =