Jagran Josh Logo

Bharat Ratna: History

25-NOV-2013 12:15

    The array to institute the Bharat Ratna award was given by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, India’s President, on January 2, 1955. The inventive edicts of January 1954 did not make allowance for the posthumous awards (and this possibly elucidates why the honor was never honored to Mahatma Gandhi), however this stipulation was supplemented in January 1966 edict. Consequently, there have been 12 posthumous awards, together with the award to Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose in the year 1992, which was in a while reserved due to a legal trifle, the only crate of an award being inhibited.


    The award was momentarily perched from July 13, 1977 to January 26, 1980. There is no recognized stipulation that beneficiaries of Bharat Ratna should be the citizens of India. Bharat Ratna has been lone award to an adapted Indian citizen, Mother Teresa and to 2 non - Indians, Nelson Mandela and Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan. The presentation of this honour has habitually been the subject of lawsuit perplexing the constitutional basis.


    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    Newsletter Signup
    Follow us on