1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Geography

Solar System

22-JUL-2014 17:51

    Solar System is the assemblage created by the Sun, 8 planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus & Neptune), their respective moons & other minor or dwarf planets.


    Mercury is named after the Greco - Roman messenger of Gods. He was very swift. Mercury has shortest & fastest orbit around the sun. Mercury orbits the Sun nearly every 88 Earth days. It goes around every 58.6 days, giving it 1 full day & a part of a rotation every Mercury year.


    Venus is the 2nd planet from sun. This planet was named for Roman goddess of love. The mass of mercury is about 80 percent that of Earth & it has about 85 percent of Earth’s volume, making it a little less dense than the Earth.


    Earth is the 3rd planet from sun. It is the only planet known to have life. About 70 percent of Earth is covered by water. Earth has 1 moon, sometimes known as Luna. Its moon is the largest moon of inner planet.


    Mars is the 2nd smallest planet in solar system since the relegation of Pluto from planethood. Mars planet is named for Greco - Roman god of war. Mars has 2 moons, Diemos and Phobos. Mars doesn’t have liquid water on its surface.


    Jupiter is the largest planet in our solar system. If we combine all other planets in the solar system together, Jupiter would still have 2 ½ times their mass.


    Saturn is another massive planet in solar system after Jupiter. The days of Saturn are just under 11 hours long. Though, its year is 29½ Earth years long. Saturn is most famous for its rings.


    Uranus is named for the father of god Jupiter. It orbits the sun every Eighty four Earth years. It is generally composed of hydrogen with large percentage of helium.


    Neptune is the last of the official planets in solar system. It is named after the ancient Greco - Roman god of sea. Methane gas in the atmosphere of Neptune gives it deep, dark blue color.

    Pluto & Plutoids

    Pluto was forecasted before it was 1st spotted based on its gravitational consequence on Neptune. It was quickly categorized as the 9th planet. In the early 2000s, the detection of a number of dwarf planets caused a major split in astronomy. Pluto was declared as a dwarf planet. Some newly discovered dwarf planets are Eris, Quaoar, Sedna, Makemake & Haumea. Dwarf planets are called Plutoids.

    Read more:Solar System , Sun , Earth , Planets

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK