1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Geography  |  

The Western Ghats Coastal Plain

24-NOV-2015 17:51

    The Western Ghats Coastal Plain extends from Surat to Kanyakumari which is divided into four parts:

    • The Gujarat Plain- Coastal area of Gujarat

    • The Konkan Plain- Between Daman and Goa.

    • The Kannad Plain- Between Goa and Mangalore.

    • The Malabar Plain- Between Mangalore and Kanyakumari

    They are actually submerged coastal plain. It is a narrow belt and provides natural conditions for the development of ports and harbours because of this submergence. Kandla, Mazagaon, JLN port Navha Sheva, Marmagao, Mangalore, Cochin, etc. are the important natural ports located along the west coast. Extending from the Gujarat coast in the north to the Kerala coast in the south, the western coast may be divided into following divisions – the Kachchh and Kathiawar coast in Gujarat, Konkan coast in Maharashtra, Goan coast and Malabar coast in Karnataka and Kerala respectively.

    The western coastal plains are narrow in the middle and get broader towards north and south. The rivers flowing through this coastal plain do not form any delta. The Malabar coast has got certain distinguishing features in the form of ‘Kayals’ (backwaters), which are used for fishing, inland navigation and also due to its special attraction for tourists. Every year the famous Nehru Trophy Vallamkali (boat race) is held in Punnamada Kayal in Kerala.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK