Jhumpa Lahiri's "Lowland" shortlisted for 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction

Lowland of Jhumpa Lahiri has been shortlisted for the 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction along with other five books.

Apr 8, 2014 15:15 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Indian American novelist, Jhumpa Lahiri’s Lowland has been shortlisted for the 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction on 8 April 2014. Five other books have also been shortlisted for the prize. This is the UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman and this year’s prize winner will be announced on 4 June 2014 in London.

Lowland published in 2013 is a book set in Kolkata and Rhode Island in the US and narrates a story about the lives of two brothers (Subhash and Udayan), their choices and their fate. Earlier, the book was also shortlisted for Man Booker Prize.

Other shortlisted authors and their books are
• Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie - Americanah
• Hannah Kent- Burial Rites
• Audrey Magee - The Undertaking
• Eimear McBride - A Girl is a Half-formed Thing
• Donna Tartt - The Goldfinch

About Jhumpa Lahiri
• She is a Pulitzer Prize-winning Indian American novelist
• Her novel Namesake (2003) was adapted under the same title for the popular film
• Lahiri is a member of the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities, appointed by U.S. President Barack Obama
• Her short story collection entitled Interpreter of Maldives (1999) won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

About Baileys BAILEYS Women's Prize for Fiction

Baileys Prize was set up in 1996 with an aim to celebrate and promote international fiction by women throughout the world to the widest range of readers possible. Earlier it was known as the Orange Prize.

This prize is awarded annually and it celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. The winner of the prize receives a cheque for £30000 and a limited edition bronze known as a ‘Bessie’, created by the artist Grizel Niven.

Previous winners of BAILEYS Women's Prize for Fiction
• 2013 Winner: May We Be Forgiven by A.M. Homes
• 2012 Winner: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
• 2011 Winner: The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht
• 2010 Winner: The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver

First two winners of the prize are
• 1996 Winner: A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore
• 1997 Winner: Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए