Mohamed Morsi Announced Emergency in Three Major Cities of Egypt

President Mohamed Morsi announced a month-long emergency in three cities of Egypt on 27 January 2013. These cities are Suez, Ismailia and Port Said.

Jan 29, 2013 12:39 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Port Said, Egypt: President Mohamed Morsi announced emergency as well as curfew in three main cities of Egypt on 27 January 2013.

Emergency and curfew was declared by the Egyptian President Mohamed Morsi in three main cities, i.e., Suez, Ismailia and Port Said because of increasing violence and protests in the streets. The violence posed serious threats to Morsi’s government as well as the democracy of Egypt. It is important to note that the three major cities sit on the economically crucial Suez Canal.

The state of emergency was imposed for one month in three major cities of Egypt. Under the Mubarak-era laws which are in-effect to the Egypt’s new constitution, under the state of emergency, the ordinary judicial process as well as most of the civil rights is suspended. Also, the state of emergency imparts extraordinary powers to the police and the President.
In Port Said, the violence ignited over the death sentences which were imposed by the court on 21 local soccer fans for the role they played in riots. The protests began after 30 people died on 26 January 2013 in clashes with the police.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए