Noted Hindi poet Kedar Nath Singh selected for Jnanpith Award 2013

Kedarnath Singh, a noted Hindi poet has been chosen for the Jnanpith award for 2013. He is the 10th Hindi writer to receive the honour.

Created On: Jun 21, 2014 09:09 ISTModified On: Jun 25, 2014 15:21 IST

Kedarnath SinghNoted Hindi poet Kedarnath Singh on 20 June 2014 was chosen for the prestigious Jnanpith award for 2013. He is the 10th Hindi writer to receive the honour and is the 49th recipient of Jnanpith award.

Kedarnath Singh (80-year-old) was born in Balia of Uttar Pradesh and is known for his work Abhi bilkul abhi and Yahan se dekho. With this he joined the league of noted Hindi writers who have won Jnanpith award
• Sumitra Nandan Pant
• Ramdhari Singh Dinkar
• Sachidananda Vatsyayan
• Mahadevi Varma
• Naresh Mehta
• Niirmal Verma
• Kunwar Narayan
• Amar Kant
• Sri Lal Sukla


About Kedarnath Singh
• He became famous with a book entitled teesra saptak edited by Sachchidananda Hirananda Vatsyayan whose pen name was Agyeya
• He was born in 1934 in Chakiya village of Balia district of Uttar Pradesh
• He completed his MA and PhD from Banaras Hindu University in 1956 and 1964
• He has been a professor and Head of Department of Hindi department of Jawaharlal Nehru University (Delhi)

Major works of Kedarnath Singh
Poem Collection: Abhi Bilkul Abhi, Zameen pak Rahi Hai, Yahan se Dekho, Akaal mein Saaras, Baagh, Tolstoy aur cycle
Essay and Stories: Mere Samay ke Shabd,Kalpana aur chhayavad, Hindi kavita mein bimb vidhan, Kabristan mein Panchayat
Others: Taana Baana

About Jnanpith Award
Jnanpith award is one of the prestigious literary awards in India and was instituted in 1961. The award is given to any Indian citizen who writes in any official languages of India mentioned in VIII Schedule of Constitution of India. It is presented by Bharatiya Jnanpith, a trust founded by the Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain family. The award includes 11 lakh rupees and a citation.

The name of award is taken from a Sanskrit words Jnana and Pitha (knowledge-seat).

• The first Jnanpith Award was given in the year 1965
• The first recipient was G Sankara Kurup for his work Odakkuzhal (Flute) in Malyalam language
• Since 1982, that is, 18th Jnanpith Award, the award is given for lifetime contribution to Indian literature
• Prior to 1982, the award was only given for a single work by a writer
• Once a language gets the award, it is not eligible for consideration during the next three years
• Since 2011, a Jnanpith Awardee is given a cash prize of 11 lakh rupees along with a shawl and citation. Earlier, the cash prize given to an awardee was 7 lakh rupees

Women writers winning Jnanpith Award

Seven women writers have won the Jnanpith Award so far.  These are: Ashapoorna Devi (1976, Bengali), Amrita Pritam (1981, Punjabi), Mahadevi Varma (1982, Hindi), Qurratulain Hyder (1989, Urdu), Mahasweta Devi (1996, Bengali), Indira Goswami (2000, Assamese) and Pratibha ray (2011, Oriya).

Past Five Winners

• Ravuri Bharadwaja (2012) Telegu
• Pratibha Ray (2011) Oriya
• Chandrasekhar Kambar (2010) Kannada
• Shrilal Shukla (2009) Hindi
• Amarkant (2009) Hindi

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 9 =