RBI introduces Rs 10 banknote in Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series

Jan 5, 2018 16:17 IST
RBI introduces Rs 10 banknote in Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) on 5 January 2018 introduced the Rs 10 denomination banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series, bearing signature of Governor Urjit R. Patel.

However, all the banknotes in the denomination of Rs 10, issued by the Reserve Bank in the earlier series, will continue to be legal tender.

The new denomination has motif of Sun Temple, Konark on the reverse, depicting the country's cultural heritage. The base colour of the note is Chocolate Brown. The dimension of the banknote will be 63 mm x 123 mm.

Features of Obverse (Front) side
• Denominational numeral १० in Devnagari
• Portrait of Mahatma Gandhi at the centre
• Micro letters 'RBI', ‘भारत ', ‘INDIA' and '10'
• Windowed demetalised security thread with inscriptions 'भारत' and RBI
• Guarantee Clause, Governor's signature with Promise Clause and RBI emblem towards right of Mahatma Gandhi portrait
• Ashoka Pillar emblem on the right
• Mahatma Gandhi portrait and electrotype (10) watermarks
• Number panel with numerals growing from small to big on the top left side and bottom right side.

Features of Reverse (Back) side
• Year of printing of the note on the left
• Swachh Bharat logo with slogan
• Language panel
• Motif of Sun Temple, Konark
• Denominational numeral १० in Devnagari

Source: RBI

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK