Switzerland defeated France to win 1st-ever Davis Cup of Tennis

Switzerland won its first Davis Cup Tennis title after defeating France by securing three-one lead at Lille Stade Pierre Mauroy.

Created On: Nov 24, 2014 17:17 ISTModified On: Nov 26, 2014 10:54 IST

Davis CupSwitzerland led by Roger Federer on 23 November 2014 defeated France to win their first-ever Davis Cup of Tennis. Swiss tennis team defeated French team by 3-1 in the finals played at Lille Stade Pierre Mauroy, France.

Davis Cup 2014 results
Round 1: Stan Warwinka of Switzerland defeated Jo-Wilfried Tsonga of France 6-1, 3-6, 6-3, 6-2
Round 2: Gael Monfils of France defeated Roger Federer of Switzerland 6-1, 6-4, 6-3
Round 3: Roger Federer & Stan Warwinka defeated Julien Benneteau & Richard Gasquet of France 6-3, 7-5, 6-4
Round 4: Roger Federer of Switzerland defeated Richard Gasquet of France 6-4, 6-2, 6-2

With this win, Switzerland became the fourteenth nation to win the Davis Cup in the competition’s 115-year history.

The Davis Cup 2014 between France and Switzerland will go down in history as the Cup that witnessed world record crowd of 27228 viewers.

Following the Davis Cup 2014 results, the top three teams are: Czech Republic, Switzerland and France.

About Davis Cup
The Davis Cup is the premier international team event in men's tennis. It is run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and is contested annually between teams from competing countries in a knock-out format. The competition began in 1900 as a challenge between Great Britain and the United States.

The women's equivalent of the Davis Cup is the Fed Cup.

Australia, the Czech Republic, and the United States are the only countries to have held both Davis Cup and Fed Cup titles in the same year.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 9 =