1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

World Food Prize Foundation announced World Food Prize for 2014

Jun 19, 2014 16:39 IST

The World Food Prize 2014 was announced by the World Food Prize Foundation on 18 June 2014. India-born Mexican plant scientist, Sanjaya Rajaram was selected for the year 2014. The award will be presented to Rajaram in Des Moines, lowa in October 2014.

The Award was established in 1986 by Dr. Norman Borlaug to focus the world’s attention on hunger and on those whose work has significantly helped efforts to end the hunger. The prize is a 250000 US dollars award presented annually on or around World Food Day (16 October).

The prize recognizes individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world.

Norman E. Borlaug was awarded Nobel Peace Prize in 1970 for a lifetime of work to feed a hungry world.
Dr. Charity Kawira Mutegi of Kenya in 2013 and Dr. Aditi Mukherji of India in 2012 received the award.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes50 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: World Food Prize , Norman Borlaug

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK