Current GK Questions and Answers on Sports 2019-2020

GK Quiz sports 2019-20: As per the observation of some exam experts; question-related to sports and games are always asked in different exams. So we have compiled these 12 important questions and answers on current GK for the exams like UPSC/PCS/SSC/Banking/CDS etc.
Created On: Feb 4, 2020 16:25 IST
Modified On: Feb 4, 2020 16:30 IST
GK Quiz on Sports 2019
GK Quiz on Sports 2019

GK Questions and answers on the sports and players are always asked in different competitive exams held in India. So we have published these 12 GK Questions and answers on the sports for these competitive exams. 

1. Who is the winner of the US Open 2019 Men's title?

(a) Roger Federer

(b) Rafael Nadal 

(c) Daniil Medvedev 

(d) Novak Djokovic

Answer b

Explanation: US Open 2019 Men's title was won by Rafael Nadal. Rafael Nadal defeated Daniil Medvedev of Russia in the final. This is Nadal's 19th Grand Slam singles titles.

2. Which of the following is not fit in the match?

(a) French Open

(b) US Open

(c) Australian Open

(d) Cincinnati Masters

Answer d

Explanation: Cincinnati Masters is not the Grand Slam Tournament while other tournaments are Grand Slams. The Cincinnati Masters is an annual hardcourt tennis event held in Ohio, USA.

3. What is the new name of Feroz Shah Kotla ground?

(a) Arun Jaitley Stadium

(b) Sheila Dikshit Stadium

(c) Gautam Gambhir Stadium

(d) Ajit Wadekar Stadium

Answer a

Explanation:  Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi is renamed to Arun Jaitley Stadium on September 12. Arun Jaitley had served as the President of the DDCA cricketing body for 13 years. So renaming this stadium is a tribute to him.

4. Which of the following region has won the Ranji Trophy tournament 2019?

(a) Saurashtra

(b) Mumbai

(c) Vidarbha

(d) Rajasthan

Answer c

Explanation: Ranji Trophy is a premier first-class cricket tournament held in India. It is Administered by the BCCI and 38 teams participated in the 2019–20 edition of this tournament. 
Vidarbha clinched 2nd successive Ranji Trophy title, beat Saurashtra in the final.

5. Which of the following statement is not correct about ICC World Cup 2019?

(a) It was the 12th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup  

(b) Rohit Sharma has scored 6 centuries in this tournament

(c) Australia Mitchell Starc was the leading wicket-taker in the tournament

(d) Mohammad Shami and Trent Boult took the hat trick in this tournament

Answer b

Explanation: Rohit Sharma has scored 5 centuries in this tournament. Rohit Sharma became the only second Indian after Sachin Tendulkar who has scored 600+ run a single world cup tournament. 

6. Which of the following trophy/ is not related to Cricket in India?

(a) Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

(b) Deodhar Trophy

(c) Santosh Trophy

(d) Duleep Trophy

Answer c

Explanation: Santosh Trophy is not related to cricket because it is a football tournament held in India. It was founded in 1941 and 31 teams participates in this tournament.

7. Who got FIFA Best Player 2019 Award?

(a) Neymar

(b) L. Messi

(c) C. Ronaldo

(d) Luka Mordic

Answer b

Explanation:  Lionel Messi bagged the FIFA Best Player 2019 Awards for the 6th time. Earlier Messi had received this award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

8. Which of the following is not matched correctly?

(a) Pankaj Advani: Billiards

(b) Anjali Bhagwat: Shooting

(c) Muhammed Anas Yahiya: Boxing

(d) Deepa Malik: Athletics

Answer c

Explanation: Muhammed Anas Yahiya from Kerala is an Indian sprinter who specialises in the 400 metres distance. He has national records in 400 meters.

9. Pankaj Advani recently won his 22nd World Billiards Title 2019. This tournament is held in.. 

(a) Malaysia

(b) Myanmar

(c) India

(d) Russia

Answer b
Explanation: Pankaj Advani claimed his 22nd World Championship title in 2019. The IBSF World Billiards Championship was held in Myanmar.

10. Who has won the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2019?

(a) Sakshi Malik

(b) Mirabai Chanu

(c) Bajrang Punia

(d)  None of the above

Answer c

Explanation: Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2019 is given to wrestler Bajrang Punia and Para-athlete player Deepa Malik. In 2018, this highest sporting award was given to Virat Kohli and Mirabai Chanu.

11. Who has won the Australian Open 2020 men's singles title?

(a) Rafel Nadal

(b) Novak Djokovic

(c) Dominic Thiem

(d) Roger Federer

Answer b

Explanation: Novak Djokovic defeated Dominic Thiem in the final. This was Novak's 17th grand slam title.

12. As per BCCI's new annual contract which of the following player is NOT in the grade A+ category?

(a) Virat Kohli

(b) Rohit Sharma

(c) Jasprit Bumrah

(d) Shikhar Dhawan

Answer d

Explanation: Shikhar Dhawan is not in the A+ grade of the BCCI's annual contract 2019-20.

GK Questions and Answers on the ICC Cricket World Cup

GK Quiz on Olympic Games

Comment ()

Related Categories