ICC Cricket World Cup Winning Captains: Year wise complete list since 1975

Here, we are giving the Complete list of Cricket world cup winning captains yearwise since 1975. So fa, 12 Cricket world cup have been played and won by 10 captains.Clive Lloyd of West Indies and Ricky Ponting of Australia are the only two captains who have won two cricket World Cups each. Kapil dev of India was the overall third captain who won the Cricket World Cup.
World Cup winning Indian captains
World Cup winning Indian captains

The first Cricket World Cup was organised in the England in 1975 while the second Cricket World Cup was organised in 1979. Both the initial World Cups were won by West Indies. The captain of winning Windies team was 'Supercat' Clive Lloyd. He was the first cricket captain who won 2 World Cup trophies till 2007. Ricky Ponting of Australia is also the second captain who has won two World Cups under his captaincy.

There were 8 cricket teams participated in the cricket World Cup 1975. Indian team was the part of very first Cricket World Up. The captain of Indian team in the first & second World Cup was Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan.

But the Kapil Dev was first captain under his leadership Indian team won its first World Cup in 1983. Here is detail of all World Cup winning captains.

1. Clive Lloyd (West Indies):

World Cup Won: 1975 & 1979

West Indies team has won initial two World Cups under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd. Windeis team has won the World Cups of 1975 & 1979.
Cricket records of the Clive Lloyd are;

Clive Lloyd was the tremendous batsman of his time. He had made 7515 runs in the 175 test innings. In the ODIs his batting career he had made 1977 runs with the average of around 40. Overall he is one of the most successful Test captains of all time.

2. Kapil Dev (India)

World Cup Won:  1983

Kapil was the famous all rounder of his time. This was the first World Cup trophy of India. This world cup victory of Indian is considered as the toughest because West Indies team was very strong team at that time. But Indian team stop their winning spree.
Batting summary of Kapil Dev







Avg B


















Kapil had made 5248 runs in the Test matches with help of 8 centuries and 3783 runs in the ODIs with the only century (175 Not out) in the World Cup.

Bowling summary of Kapil Dev

Bowling Career Summary




























 Kapil has taken 434 wickets in test matches which was a world record for a long time.

3 Allan Border (Australia): This was the first Cricket World Cup of the Australian team.

World Cup Won: 1987

India and Pakistan were the co-hosts of the 1987 World Cup and most favourite teams to win this World Cup. But Allen border led Australia won this world cup by defeating England in the final.

Cricket Career of Allen Border

4. Imran Khan (Pakistan):
World Cup Won: 1992
Imran Khan is indisputably the world's second-best all-rounder after Garry Sobers. Australia & New Zealand were the co-host of this World Cup. Pakistan won its maiden World Cup by defeating England in the final match.
Imran Khan had made more than 3800 runs in Test matches and 3700 runs in the ODI. In addition to this he has taken 362 wickets in test matches and 182 in the ODIs.

List of Cricketers who have scored 10,000 runs in ODI

5. Arjuna Ranatunga:

World Cup Won: 1996

This World Cup was co-hosted by the Pakistan & India in 1996. Sri Lanka defeated Australia to win its maiden World Cup.
The opening pair of Jayasurya  and Kaluwitharan were the most destructive batsman of that World Cup. Aravinda de Silva hit the ton in the final match and Sri Lanka won the World Cup 1996.

Arjuna Ranatunga Records:

6.  Steve Waugh (Australia):
World Cup Won: 1999

This was the second World Cup of Australia. Australia defeated Pakistan in the final played in the England.
Steve Waugh scored 120 off 110 in the quarter final and guided his team into the semi-finals. In the semi-final Steve Waugh again hit remarkable 56 runs to set the target of 213 runs for South Africans but Africa failed to achieve it.

Steve Waugh records:

7. Ricky Ponting (Australia):

World Cup Won:  (2003 & 2007)

Ponting is the only captain after the Clive Lloyd who has won two cricket World Cups as a captain. Overall this was the third and fourth World Cup trophy of the Australia.
In ICC Cricket World Cups 6 centuries are hit by Sachin Tendulkar while Ricky Ponting and Sangakkara hit 5 centuries each.
Career records of the Ricky Ponting:

8.  MS Dhoni (India): Dhoni Popular as the best finisher in the cricket world. He is the only Indian captain who has won 50 over cricket world cup and T-20 World Cup.

World Cup Won: (2011)

his was the second cricket world cup trophy of the Indian team. This was the first time that a host nation won the world cup. India defeated Sri Lanka in the final played in Mumbai. I hope every Indian cricket lover must remember that six hit by Dhoni to won the World Cup.

Career Records of Dhoni:
Dhoni is still playing for Indian team and completed 10000 runs in the ODIs.

9.  Michael Clarke (Australia):

World Cup Won: (2015)

Clark is the 4th Australian captain who has won the World Cup. Overall this was the 5th cricket world cup of Australia. Australia defeated New Zealand to won the 5th World Cup title.

10.  Eoin Morgan (England)

World Cup Won: (2019)

This is the first ICC cricket world cup of English team so Morgan is also the first English captain who has won the ICC cricket world cup.

Australia is the most success country which won 5 World Cups. India & West Indies are the only two countries which have won the World Cup 2 times each.
Career Records of Clarke;

So there are 10 captains have won the 12 editions of the Cricket World Cups held so far. Ricky Ponting and Clive Lloyd are the only two players who have won two World Cups. Interesting to know all the captains who have won the ICC world cups retired from International Cricket except Dhoni and Morgan.

List of Winners & Runners-up of the ICC Cricket World Cup

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Categories