Justices Hemant Gupta, R Subhash Reddy, MR Shah and Ajay Rastogi sworn-in as Supreme Court Judges

Nov 2, 2018 12:50 IST
Justices Hemant Gupta, R Subhash Reddy, MR Shah and Ajay Rastogi sworn-in as SC Judges

Justices Hemant Gupta, R Subhash Reddy, M R Shah and Ajay Rastogi were on November 2, 2018 sworn-in as the Judges of the Supreme Court. Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi administered oath of office to the four judges.

Earlier on November 1, 2018, President Ram Nath Kovind issued a notification appointing these four judges as the Supreme Court judges.

Prior to this elevation, Justice Gupta served as the Chief Justice of the Madhya Pradesh High Court; Justice Rastogi as the Chief Justice of the Tripura High Court; Justice Shah as the incumbent Chief Justice of the Patna High Court; and Justice Reddy as the Chief Justice of the Gujarat High Court.

Strength of Supreme Court Judges

With their elevation, the number of judges at the Supreme Court rose to 28. The sanctioned strength of Supreme Court judges in 31. Two judges, namely, Justice Kurian Joseph and Justice Madan B Lokur are set to retire in November and December 2018 respectively.

Recommendation by Supreme Court Collegium

On October 30, 2018, the Supreme Court Collegium comprising CJI Ranjan Gogoi, Justice Madan B Lokur, Justice Kurian Joseph, Justice A K Sikri and Justice S A Bobde recommended the names of these four judges as they “are more deserving and suitable in all respects than other Chief Justices and senior Judges of High Courts..”.

The Collegium Resolution stated that it has taken into consideration combined seniority on all-India basis of Chief Justices and senior puisne Judges of High Courts, apart from their merit and integrity.

Justice Hemant Gupta, Justice R. Subhash Reddy, Justice MR Shah, and Justice Ajay Rastogi stand 4, 5, 17 and 25 positions respectively in the combined seniority of High Court Judges on all-India basis.

The Collegium also noted that the High Courts of Punjab & Haryana, Gujarat and Rajasthan have remained unrepresented in the Supreme Court since long.

Justice Hemant Gupta

Justice Hemant Gupta took oath as the Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court on March 18, 2017.

He was elevated as the Judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court — where he served the longest tenure on July 2, 2002. He was one of most senior judges of the high court.

Justice Gupta served as Additional Advocate General of Punjab from 1997 to 1999.

Justice Ramayyagari Subhash Reddy

Justice Ramayyagari Subhash Reddy served as the Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Hyderabad for the State of Telangana and the State of Andhra Pradesh

He was appointed as the Chief Justice of the Gujarat High Court on February 3, 2016.

He was appointed as judge of High Court of Andhra Pradesh on December 2, 2002.

Justice Mukeshkumar Rasikbhai Shah

Justice Mukeshkumar Rasikbhai Shah was appointed as the Chief Justice of Patna High Court on August 4, 2018.

On March 7, 2004, he was appointed as the Judge of Gujarat High Court.

Justice Shah enrolled as an advocate in July 1982.
Justice Ajay Rastogi

Justice Ajay Rastogi was recommended by the Collegium for being appointed as Chief Justice of Tripura High Court on February 1, 2018.

Prior to that, he was serving as a judge of Rajasthan High Court since September 2, 2004.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK