President conferred Jnanpith Award to poet Sankha Ghosh

President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the 52nd Jnanpith Award to well-known Bengali poet Sankha Ghosh to honour his immense contribution to Bengali literature.

Created On: Apr 28, 2017 13:09 ISTModified On: Apr 28, 2017 13:22 IST

 Sankha Ghosh Sankha Ghosh, eminent Bengali poet and literary critic was honoured with the 52nd Jnanpith Award on 27 April 2017 by President Pranab Mukherjee in New Delhi.

Speaking on the occasion, the President stated that the professor, who is a recipient of Sahitya Akademi award and the Padma Bhushan, is the most deserving recipient of this award.

Pranab Mukherjee further stated that Ghosh’s literary works reflect a rare poetic style that encompasses not only a lyrical style but also a deep reflection of the social milieu. It often takes on the superficiality in the society and is almost akin to candid commentary on contemporary issues.

The President also expressed his full trust in Ghosh as a teacher of reputation and stated that the poet would have undoubtedly had a positive influence on the minds of his students, just as he enriched the minds of his readers.

About Sankha Ghosh

• Born on 6 February 1932 in Chandpur (presently in Bangladesh), Ghosh is one of the most prolific writers in the Bengali language.

• He is in fact regarded as a leading authority in his own right on the works of Rabindranath Tagore.

• He completed his undergraduate studies in Arts in the Bengali language from Kolkata’s Presidency College and subsequently did his masters from the University of Calcutta.

• He previously taught at several educational institutions including in colleges affiliated to the University of Calcutta, Jadavpur University, Delhi University,  Visva-Bharati University and the Indian Institute of Advanced Studies at Shimla.

• He took part in the International Writing Program's Fall Residency at the University of Iowa in Iowa City in 1967.

• His work, while conveying strong messages have noticeably avoided any sort of verbal tirade, displaying his fluid brilliance. They have all been to the point and correct.

• Some of his greatest works include Murkho baro, samajika naya, Baborer Prarthana, chapa srshti karuna and poems such as Dinaguli rataguli and Nihitapatalachaya.

• His poems have been translated into a number of Indian and foreign languages.

• He has also won a number of prestigious awards including the Narasimh Das Puraskar in 1977, Rabindra Puraskar in 1989, Kamalkumari Award in 1993, Saraswati Samman in 1998, the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1977 and the Padma Bhushan in 2011.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 0 =