General Knowledge for Competitive Exams

Read: General Knowledge | General Knowledge Lists | Overview of India | Countries of World

Vir Chakra: India’s Third Highest Gallantry Award

Jul 24, 2020
The Vir Chakra (VrC) is the third-highest military award in India and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air. So far this award has been conferred to 1322 warriors, in which 958 people have been given posthumously.

List of highest wicket takers in ODI

Jul 24, 2020
Sri Lanka's Muttiah Muralitharan holds the world record for most wickets in ODIs. He has taken 534 wickets in 341 ODI innings. Pakistan's Wasim Akram is the only other bowler to take more than 500 ODI wickets. So far, 13 players have taken more than 300 wickets in ODIs.

Mahavir Chakra: Know About India’s Second Highest Gallantry Award

Jul 24, 2020
The Mahavir Chakra (MVC) was instituted on 26 Jan 1950 to recognise the act of gallantry in the presence of the enemy. MVC is the second-highest military Award in India. Three gallantry awards in India are The Param Vir Chakra, The Mahavir Chakra, and The Vir Chakra.

Consumer Protection Act, 2019: Meaning and Key Features

Jul 23, 2020
The Consumer Protection Act, 2019 replaced the old Consumer Protection Act, 1986. The new bill was passed by the president on Aug 06, 2019. Here we are explaining the key features of this Consumer Protection Act, 2019. 

Bal Gangadhar Tilak birth anniversary: Know about 10 Amazing and Unknown Facts

Jul 23, 2020
Bal Gangadhar Tilak is also known as Lokmanya Tilak. He was born on 23 July, 1856 in Ratnagiri, Maharashtra. He is known for his famous slogan "Swaraj is my birthright and I shall have it". Let us read more about Bal Gangadhar Tilak, his childhood, history, achievements and some unknown facts.

Balochistan Province of Pakistan: Facts on its Geography and Economy

Jul 22, 2020
Balochistan Province means the land of the Baloch peoples. It is not a country but one of the four provinces of Pakistan. Balochistan is the largest province of Pakistan in terms of land area.

What is the Form 26AS?

Jul 22, 2020
Form 26AS is your annual tax statement. You can find it from the website of the income tax department with the help of your PAN number. Form 26AS contains information about the tax you paid to the government. This form will reflect details of all high-value transactions made by the taxpayers.

Crony Capitalism: Meaning and Examples

Jul 22, 2020
Crony capitalism is an indicator of the state of the economy where success in business is determined by the mutual relationship between businessmen and government officials.

List of Top 20 Chess Players in the world 2020

Jul 21, 2020
 Magnus Carlsen (Norway) is the number one chess player in the world from a long time. He is followed by Caruana, Fabiano USA. Viswanathan Anand,  (India) is the number one chess player in India but he is ranked at 15 in the world.

What is 3T Cricket Solidarity Cup and its rules?

Jul 21, 2020
A new chapter was added to the cricket world on 18 July 2020 when the '3T Cricket Solidarity Cup' was organized by the South Africa Board to raise funds for the Covid-19 pandemic. There are 3 teams played in this cup that is why it is known as 3T cricket. Let us know the rules of 3T cricket in this article.

Shiv Nadar: Biography, Career, Net Worth and Awards

Jul 20, 2020
Shiv Nadar, chairman of India's renowned tech company HCL Technology, has resigned from his post in July 2020, which will now be handled by his daughter Roshni Nadar Malhotra. The HCL company was founded by Shiv Nadar in August 1976 in a garage. Let us know about the biography of Shiva Nadar in this article.

What is The Hindu Widows' Remarriage Act, 1856?

Jul 20, 2020
The Hindu Widows' Remarriage Act, 1856 legalised the remarriage of Hindu widows on 16th July 1856. This act also provided all the rights and inheritances to all the windows that they have had at the time of her first marriage.

List of Chess Grandmasters in India 2020

Jul 20, 2020
Raunak Sadhwani is the latest and the 65th Grandmaster (GM) from India. he is the 9th youngest GM in the world and 4th youngest Grandmaster in India after Gukesh D, Praggnanandhaa R, and Parimarjan Negi.

When a chess player is called Grand Master?

Jul 20, 2020
Raunak Sadhwani is the latest and the 65th Grandmaster (GM) from India. At the age of 13 years, nine months, and 26 days, he is the 9th youngest GM in the world.  He is the 4th youngest Grandmaster in India after Gukesh D, Praggnanandhaa R, and Parimarjan Negi. Read this article to know the list of all Indian Grandmasters.

List of International Cricket Council (ICC) Presidents|Chairmen 2020

Jul 17, 2020
Mr. Shashank Manohar is the present chairman of the ICC who was elected in May 2016. Now he does not want to continue after May 2020. So the ICC will elect a new Chairman soon and Sourav Ganguly is the race for ICC chairman.

Know why PM CARES Fund does not come under the purview of RTI?

Jul 16, 2020
The PM Care Fund was established on 27 March 2020 as a public charitable trust with the primary objective of dealing with any type of emergency like COVID-19 pandemic in India. In response to an RTI application, the Prime Minister's Office has refused to show details regarding the use of money collected in this fund.

List of Top investors in Reliance Jio

Jul 16, 2020
Reliance Jio the digital platform has sold around 32.94% stake to 13 different investors to get rid of the debt of the company by March 2021. Facebook is the biggest investor that has purchased a 10% stake in the Jio Platform.

ICC World Cup 1983: Know how India became world Champion

Jul 15, 2020
The third tournament of the ICC Cricket World Cup was held in England and Wales from 9 to 25 June 1983. There are 8 teams participated in this and India won the tournament by defeating West Indies. On 25 June 2020, India has celebrated 37 years of this magnificent achievement.

How much Tax do you pay on Diesel & Petrol in India?

Jul 15, 2020
In 2020, the excise duty has increased at least 10 times since 2014. The excise duty on diesel is now Rs 31.83 and on petrol Rs 32.98 in 2020. Worth to mention that tax on petrol was Rs 9.48 per litre and on diesel, it was Rs3.56 a litre when the Modi government took office in 2014.

Official Languages in Indian Constitution

Jul 14, 2020
Indian Constitution has different languages to deal with various institutions, i.e. Language of the Union, Regional Languages, Language of the judiciary and texts of law and special directives.

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Get App