List of all Prime Ministers of India

List of all Prime Ministers of India: Narendra Modi is the 15th Prime Minister of India. Jawaharlal Nehru is the longest-serving Prime Minister of India.
Oct 26, 2020 19:55 IST
facebook Iconfacebook Iconfacebook Icon
List of all Prime Ministers of Iindia
List of all Prime Ministers of Iindia

Article 78 of the Indian Constitution specifies the duties of the Prime Minister of India. He acts as a  link between the President and cabinet while discharging his duties.

Article 75 of the Indian Constitution envisages that there will be a Prime Minister who shall be appointed by the President of India. Prime Minister is the leader of the Cabinet Ministers. The main executive powers of the government are vested in the Prime Minister while the President is the nominal head of the State.

Prime Minister of India determines the dates of its meetings and programmes for the Parliament session. He also decides when the house has to be prorogued or dissolved. As a chief spokesman, he makes the announcement of principal government policies and answers questions.

Prime Minister (PM) recommends President regarding the appointment of many officers, he allocates and reshuffles various portfolios among ministers, he presides over the meeting of the council of ministers and influences their decision. The PM can ask any member to resign or recommend the President to remove any minister.

List of all the Prime Ministers is given below:




Term of office



Jawahar Lal Nehru


15 August 1947-27 May 1964

16 years, 286 days

The first prime minister of India and the longest-serving PM of India, first to die in office.


Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting)


27 May,1964 to 9 June 1964,

13 days

First acting PM of India


Lal Bahadur Shastri


9 June, 1964 to 11 January 1966

1 year, 216 days

He has given the slogan of 'Jai Jawan Jai Kisan' during Indo-Pak war of 1965


Gulzari Lal Nanda  (Acting)


January 11, 1966 - January 24, 1966

13 days



Indira Gandhi


24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977

11 years, 59 days

First lady Prime Minister of India


Morarji Desai


24 March 1977 – 28 July 1979 

2 year, 126 days

Oldest to become PM @ 81 and first to resign from office


Charan Singh


28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980

170 days

Only PM who did not face the Parliament


Indira Gandhi


14 Jan.1980 to 31 October 1984

4 years, 291 days

The first lady who served as PM for the second term


Rajiv Gandhi


31 October 1984 to 2 December 1989

5 years, 32 days

Youngest to become PM @ 40 year


V. P. Singh


2 December 1989 to 10 November 1990

343 days

First PM to step down after a vote of no confidence


Chandra Shekhar


10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991

223 days

He belongs to  Samajwadi Janata Party


P. V. Narasimha Rao


21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996

4 years, 330 days

First PM from south India


Atal Bihari Vajpayee

(1924- 2018)

16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996

16 days

PM for shortest tenure


H. D. Deve Gowda

(born 1933)

1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997

324 days

He belongs to  Janata Dal


Inder Kumar Gujral


21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998  332 days



Atal Bihari Vajpayee


19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004 

6 years, 64 days

 The first non-congress PM who completed a full term as PM


Manmohan Singh

(born 1932)

22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014   

10 years, 4 days

 First Sikh PM


Narendra Modi

(born 1950)

26 May 2014, Incumbent

4th Prime Minister of India who served two consecutive tenures

The results of the 17th Lok Sabha elections have been declared on the 23 May 2019. Narendra Modi is the 15th Prime Minister (in person) of India. He is the 4th Prime Minister of India who would serve two consecutive terms as Prime Minister of India and would be the first Non-Congress Party Prime Minister of India who would complete two consecutive terms.

List of all Presidents of India

List of Current Chief Ministers in India

List of International Awards received by Narendra Modi