List of Indian States and Union Territories with their Capitals

India is a democratic country which consists of 28 states and 9 union territories. Here we are providing a complete list of all States of India, UTs, their capitals and other important details.
Created On: Jan 3, 2020 13:42 IST
Modified On: Jan 3, 2020 13:42 IST
List of Indian States and their Capitals
List of Indian States and their Capitals

India i.e Bharat is a union of 28 states & 9 union territories. The states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative divisions. The Constitution was adopted on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950. The boundaries of Indian states are reorganised on the linguistic basis by the States Reorganisation Act, 1956.

List of the Indian States, Capitals and their Chief Ministers

Andhra Pradesh

Capital: Hyderabad

Chief Minister: Shri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy

Arunachal Pradesh

Capital: Itanagar

Chief Minister: Shri Pema Khandu


Capital: Dispur

Chief Minister: Shri Sarbananda Sonowal


Capital: Patna

Chief Minister: Shri Nitish Kumar


Capital: Raipur

Chief Minister: Shri Bhupesh Baghel


Capital: Panaji

Chief Minister: Shri Pramod Sawant


Capital: Gandhinagar

Chief Minister: Shri Vijaybhai R. Rupani


Capital: Chandigarh

Chief Minister: Shri Manohar Lal Khattar

Himachal Pradesh

Capital: Shimla

Chief Minister: Shri Jairam Thakur


Capital: Ranchi

Chief Minister: Shri Hemant Soren


Capital: Bengaluru

Chief Minister: Sri B. S. Yediyurappa


Capital: Thiruvananthapuram

Chief Minister: Shri Pinarayi Vijayan

Madhya Pradesh

Capital: Bhopal

Chief Minister: Shri Kamal Nath


Capital: Mumbai

Chief Minister: Shri Uddhav Thackeray


Capital: Imphal

Chief Minister: Shri N. Biren Singh


Capital: Shillong

Chief Minister: Shri Conrad Kongkal Sangma


Capital: Aizawl

Chief Minister: Shri Pu Zoramthanga


Capital: Kohima

Chief Minister: Shri Neiphiu Rio


Capital: Bhubaneswar

Chief Minister: Shri Naveen Patnaik


Capital: Chandigarh

Chief Minister: Shri Capt. Amarinder Singh


Capital: Jaipur

Chief Minister: Shri Ashok Gehlot


Capital: Gangtok

Chief Minister: Shri PS Golay

Tamil Nadu

Capital: Chennai

Chief Minister: Thiru Edappadi K. Palaniswami


Capital: Hyderabad

Chief Minister: Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao


Capital: Agartala

Chief Minister: Shri Biplab Kumar Deb

Uttar Pradesh

Capital: Lucknow

Chief Minister: Shri Yogi Aditya Nath


Capital: Dehradun

Chief Minister: Shri Trivendra Singh Rawat

West Bengal

Capital: Kolkata

Chief Minister: Mamata Banerjee

List of union territories, capitals and their Chief Minister

Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Capital: Port Blair

Lieutenant Governors: Devendra Kumar Joshi


Capital: Chandigarh

Administrators: V.P. Singh Badnore

Dadra & Nagar  Haveli

Capital: Silvassa

Administrators: Praful Patel 

Daman & Diu

Capital: Daman

Administrators: Praful Patel 


Capital: Kavaratti

Administrators: Dineshwar Sharma


Capital: Puducherry

Chief Minister: V. Narayanasamy

Lieutenant Governors: Kiran Bedi

National Capital Territory of Delhi

Capital: Delhi

Chief Minister: Arvind Kejriwal

Lieutenant Governor: Anil Baijal

Jammu and Kashmir 

Capital: (Srinagar-Summer, Jammu- Winter)

Lieutenant Governor: Girish Chandra Murmu


Capital: Leh

Lieutenant Governor: Radha Krishna Mathur 

The Indian Constitution is federal in nature but unitary in method which means States in India do not have the right to secede from the union. Hence, India has both unitary features (like appointing governor, concurrent list, single citizenship, single constitution) and federal features (Union List, State List, State Election etc.). So, it is quasi federal. 

GK Quiz on Indian States Set II

Related Categories