1. Home
  2. |  
  3. CBSE Board |  

CBSE Class 12: Sexual Reproduction in Flowering Plants - Structure of a Flower

Jun 10, 2015 13:15 IST

    In this video we will learn about the structure of a flower and how the flower formation takes place.

    • Flower is the site of sexual reproduction in plants.
    • A flower develops from the shoot apical meristem.
    • Sequences of flower development:

    • A flower has 4 whorls

    1. Petals- Generally coloured part of a flower and collectively called as corolla.
    2. Sepals- Green part just below the petals and collectively called as calyx.
    3. Stamen- Male reproductive part and collectively called as androecium.
    4. Pistil- Female reproductive part and collectively called as gynoecium.

    • A flower having these all 4 whorls is known as complete flower otherwise it will be called as incomplete flower.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK

    Register to view Complete PDF