1. Home
  2. |  
  3. Sarkari Naukri |  

UPSC Revises Syllabus & Scheme of Indian Engineering Services (IES) Exam; to be Effective from 2017

Mar 9, 2016 16:05 IST
  • Read in hindi

Union Public Service Commission has revised of Scheme and Syllabi of Engineering disciplines which is to be implemented from the Indian Engineering Services (IES) Examination 2017.

However for the current year, i.e. UPSC Indian Engineering Services (IES) Exam 2016 the syllabus and examination scheme will remain same as per the notification issued. The Commission has invited applications for IES examination from 25 February 2016. The last date for submission of application is 25 March 2016.

UPSC will conduct the Indian Engineering Services (IES) Examination on 27 May 2016. The examination will be held for recruitment against vacancies in Civil, Mechanical, Electrical & Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering disciplines. Applications have been invited from candidates having minimum qualification of Degree in Engineering.

In the revised scheme, the examination will be conducted in three Stages: Preliminary, Mains and Personal test totaling to 1300 marks.

The Preliminary examination will comprise of Paper I (02 hours; 200 marks) & Paper II (03 hours; 300 marks). While Paper I will be related to General Studies and Engineering Aptitude, Paper II will be Engineering Discipline-specific. Minimum Qualifying Marks for each Paper should be at the discretion of the Commission. Only those candidates qualifying the Preliminary examination shall be allowed to sit for the Mains examination.

Similar to the Preliminary examination, the Mains examination will comprise of Paper I (03 hours; 300 marks) & Paper II (03 hours; 300 marks). Both of these papers will be Engineering Discipline-specific. Only those Candidates qualifying at this Stage (i.e. Stage-I + Stage-II) shall be permitted to appear for Stage-III examination (Personality test). The personality test will carry a total of 200 marks.

Details from Official Notification

Only those Candidates qualifying at this Stage (i.e. Stage I + Stage II + Stage III) to be included in the Final Merit List of Engg. Services Exam. Thus the marks secured by the candidates in the Stage-I (Objective type papers) of the Engineering Services Examination should be added to the marks secured in the Stage-II (Conventional type papers) of the Examination and Stage-III (Personality Test) and accordingly, such marks secured by the candidates in Stage-I should also be counted for merit.

Interested candidates can find more details about the examination scheme and detailed information about the revised syllabus from the link given below.

Revised Scheme and Syllabi


Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK

Register to view Complete PDF