Nobel Peace Prize 2019: Abiy Ahmed, Ethiopian Prime Minister, wins prize

Nobel Peace Prize 2019:  Abiy Ahmed Ali forged a peace deal with Eritrea last year and won the 2019 Nobel peace prize.

Oct 12, 2019 11:35 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Nobel Peace Prize 2019: The Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali has been awarded Nobel Peace prize 2019 for his efforts to resolve 20-year-long border conflict between Ethiopia and Eritrea.

The announcement was made by the Chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Berit Reiss-Andersen.

Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali has been recognized with the highest peace honour for his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation, especially for his active role in resolving Ethiopia’s border dispute with neighbor Eritrea.

Also read: Nobel Prizes in Literature for 2018 and 2019 awarded to Olga Tokarczuk, Peter Handke

Nobel peace prize 2019

The 2019 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded in recognition of all those who have contributed towards the peaceful reconciliation in Ethiopia and in the east and north-east African regions.

The Ethiopian PM, Abiy Ahmed Ali had in close cooperation with the President of Eritrea, Isaias Afwerki secured a peace agreement to end the long-drawn standoff between Ethiopia and Eritrea.

Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali also launched some key reforms in Ethiopia that gave many citizens hope for a better future. Abiy Ahmed Ali also worked to promote a culture of solidarity, social justice and reconciliation.

The Nobel Committee decided to recognize Abiy Ahmed Ali’s efforts with the hope that it will strengthen his work towards further peace and reconciliation.

Nobel peace prize 2019: Key Facts

Abiy Ahmed Ali is the first Nigerian to ever receive a Nobel Prize.

The 2019 Nobel Peace Prize was the 100th Nobel Peace Prize to be awarded.

The 2018 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded jointly to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad to recognize their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war.

Also read: Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019 jointly awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino

Also read: Nobel Prize 2019 in Physics awarded to James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz 

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप