1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Siddaramaiah sworn-in as the 22nd Chief Minister of Karnataka

May 13, 2013 13:24 IST

SiddaramaiahSiddaramaiah, the leader of the Indian National Congress on 11 May 2013 was sworn in as the 22nd chief minister of the state of Karnataka.

64 years old Siddaramaiah was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor HR Bhardwaj at Sree Kanteerva stadium.
It is important here to note that Siddaramaiah led the Congress in Karnataka which won 121 seats in the 225-member assembly for which election was held on 5 May 2013 and voted counted on 8 May. The Congress last ruled the state on its own in 1999-2004. For nearly two years in 2004-2006, it headed a coalition with Janata Dal-Secular.

A Brief Insight into the Political Career of Siddaramaiah

• In year 1992 Siddaramaiah was appointed as Secretary General of Janata Dal.
• In Year 1994 became the Minister for Finance in the Janata Dal government headed by Deve Gowda.
• He served as a Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka twice, first in 1996 when JH Patel became Chief Minister and again in 2004 when JDS formed a coalition government with Dharam Singh.
• In Chief Minister Ramakrishna Hegde's government, he handled diverse portfolios such as Sericulture, Animal Husbandry and Transport portfolios during different stages.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes20 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK