List of ISRO Chairman

In 1962, the Government of India set up an Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR). It was set up at Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) in Thiruvananthapuram for upper atmospheric research. The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) is the space agency of the Government of India headquartered in the city of Bangalore. It was formed in 1969, superseded the erstwhile INCOSPAR.
Created On: Jul 22, 2019 15:30 IST
Modified On: Jul 22, 2019 15:33 IST

10 chairman of ISRO has been appointed since 1963. The current chairman of the ISRO is K. Sivan who took the charge in January 2018. The first chairman of the ISRO was Dr. Vikram Sarabhai. 

       ISRO Chairman


   Lengh of Term

1.  Vikram Sarabhai

 From 1963 to 1972

 9 years

2. M. G. K. Menon

 From Jan. 1972 to Sept. 1972

 9 months

3. Satish Dhawan

 From 1972 to 1984

 12 years

4. Prof. U R Rao

 From 1984 to 1994

 10 years

5. K. Kasturirangan

 From 1994 to 2003

 9 years

6. G. Madhavan Nair

 From 2003 to 2009

 6 years

7. K. Radhakrishnan

 From 2009 to 2014

 5 years

8. Shailesh Nayak

 From 1 Jan. 2015 to 12 Jan. 2015               

 12 days

9. A. S. Kiran Kumar

 From 2015 to 2018

 3 years

10. K. Sivan

 From Jan 2018 Till date


Facts about ISRO's Chairman

1. Dr. Vikram Sarabhai (1963 to 1972) is considered the Father of the Indian space program. Vikrma Sarabhai established these institutions:
I. Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad.
II. Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Ahmedabad
III. Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuramm
IV. Faster Breeder Test Reactor (FBTR), Kalpakkam

2. Prof. Satish Dhawan (1972-1984)
I. He succeeded Vikram Sarabhai,the founder of the Indian space programme, as Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in 1972.
II. His efforts led to operational systems like INSAT and PSLV in India.

3. Prof. Udupi Ramachandra Rao (1984-1994)
I. Dr. Rao undertook the responsibility for the establishment of satellite technology in India in 1972.
II. He was in lead role in designing the first Indian satellite 'Aryabhata' in 1975.

4. Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan (1994-2003)
I. Under his leadership, as Chairman, ISRO, the space programme has witnessed several major milestones in the name of PSLV and GSLV.
II. He was also the Project Director for India's first two experimental earth observation satellites, BHASKARA-I & II.

5. Shri G.Madhavan Nair (2003-2009)
I. Chandrayaan-1 was India's first lunar probe. It was launched under the chairmanship of Shri G.Madhavan Nair.
II. During his tenure of six years as Chairman, ISRO/Secretary; 25 successful missions were accomplished by ISRO.

6. Dr. K. Radhakrishnan (2009-2014)
I. India's first interplanetary mission Mangalyaan was launched under the chairmanship of Mr.K. Radhakrishnan.

7. Shri A S Kiran Kumar (2015 to 2018)
I. He has done a commendable job in the launch of Chandrayaan-1 and Mars Orbiter Mission of India.
II. Indian National Regional Navigation System (IRNSS) and GAGAN have been developed under his supervision.

In the conclusion it can be said that the ISRO is doing very commendable job in the areas of space and astronomy. The contribution given by the all the chairmen of ISRO is very appreciable especially Dr. Vikram Sarabhai.

How ISRO will make Indian Railways safe?

Comment ()