CBSE Class 11th: Plant Kingdom - Classification of Plant Kingdom

In this video we are going the learn the topic classification of the Plant Kingdom.

Created On: Apr 2, 2015 12:43 IST
Modified On: Apr 2, 2015 15:34 IST

In this video we are going the learn the topic classification of the Plant Kingdom.

  • The plants have been divided into five classes:
  1. Algae
  2. Bryophytes
  3. Pteridophytes
  4. Gymnosperm
  5. Angiosperm
  • Algae is aquatic in nature
  • The example of unicellular algae is Chlamydomonas
  • The example of colonial form algae is Volvox
  • The example of filamental form algae is Spirogyra
  • The plant body of algae is thalloid (a plant body which can not be differentiated into root, stem, and leaf)
  • Bryophytes include the various mosses and liverworts that are found commonly growing in moist shaded areas in the hills.
  • Bryophytes are known as the amphibians of the plant kingdom because these plants can live in soil but are dependent on water for sexual reproduction
  • In bryophytes, Vascular tissue is absent
  • The plant body of bryophytes is more differentiated than that of algae
  • Body of bryophytes is thallus-like and prostrate or erect, and attached to the substratum
  • Pteridophytes are the first teresterial plants
  • The vascular tissues are very well developed to absorb the water
  • Sporophytic generation is present in pteridophytes that they reproduce by asexual spores
  • Gymnosperm includes pinus and cycus, growing in cold conditions
  • Gymnosperms are said to be flowering plants as they produce flowers having  naked seeds
  • In gymnosperm, ovule is not enclosed in ovary
  • Flowers of gymnosperm are called cones
  • Angiosperms are the highly eveolved group of plants
  • Angiosperms are the flowering plants having seeds which are enclosed within the ovary
  • Vascular tissues are well developed
  • Angiosperms are divided into monocot plants and dicot plants

Please share your feedback and suggestions for this video.

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 0 =