1. Home
  2. |  
  3. Education |  

Trifurcation of Bangalore University Approved by Karnataka Cabinet

May 27, 2015 17:30 IST

    The Karnataka Cabinet has given its nod to amend the bill which provides the option for trifurcating the Bangalore University and fixing the jurisdiction of the newly formed universities. According to the Karnataka State Universities (Amendment) Bill 2015, the existing Bangalore University would get divided into three constituent parts namely, BU(North), BU(Central) and BU ( South).

    Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru Rural, Chikkaballapura and Kolar districts are taken as the units for division of the universities. It was necessary to split Bangalore University as it had more than 600 constituent colleges under it with more than 3.5 lakh students studying under the banner of the university. It became terribly tough to have a smooth administration for the authorities of the university and thus the division seemed to be evident.

    According to sources, colleges under the jurisdiction of the assembly constituencies of Vijaynagar, Padmanabhanagar, Bommanahalli, Anekal, Bangalore(south), Yeshwanthpur, Rajarajeshwarinagar, Dasarahalli, Mahalakshmi Layout, Govindarajnagar, Nelamangala, Magadi, Ramanagara, Kanakapura and Channapatna would have the headquarters in the newly formed BU(south) university.

    Central college would be the headquarter of BU(central) and colleges coming under the jurisdiction of assembly constituencies Shantinagar, Byatarayanpura, Yelahanka, Malleswaram, Hebbal, Shivajinagar, Gandhinagar, Chilkpet, Basavanagudi, BTM Layout, Jayanagar and Rajajinagar would fall under the BU (Central).

    BU(North) would have Post-Graduate Centre, Kolar as its headquarter with colleges of the jurisdiction of assembly constituencies of Kolar, Malur, KR Pura, Pulakeshinagar, Sarvjananagar, CV Ramanagar, Mahadevpura, Gouribidanur, Bagepalli, Chikkaballapura, Shidlaghatta, Chintamani, Devanahalli, Hoskote and Doddaballapura under its ambit.

    Previous BJP government had proposed a bill for the bifurcation of Bangalore University to which the then governor H R Bhardwaj gave a denial and set up a new university namely DVG Janavaahini University. After the amendment he said, this move would destroy Bangalore University and divide its resources.

    The present state government was keen on dividing the university and at least three reports had been submitted before the government for splitting the university.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK

    Register to view Complete PDF