Union Cabinet gives nod for incorporation of Six new IITs; Upgrades Indian School of Mines to IIT

May 26, 2016 14:23 IST

Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 25 May 2016 gave its ex-facto approval to the Amendment to The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 for incorporation of six new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs).

These six new IITs will come up at following places:

• Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh

• Palakkad in Kerala

• Dharwar in Karnataka

• Bhilai in Chhattisgarh

• Goa

• Jammu in Jammu & Kashmir

IMS Dhanbad upgraded to IIT

The above Amendment is also for conversion of Indian School of Mines (ISM), Dhanbad into an IIT by bringing it into the ambit of the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 and also declaring it as an institute of national importance.

NIT at Andhra Pradesh

The cabinet also gave ex post facto approval to set up NIT, Andhra Pradesh which has been registered as a Society under the Andhra Pradesh Societies Registration Act, 2001. The approval will give a legal entity to the NIT.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes6 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: IIT , ISM , Dhanbad , Institutes of Technology Act 1961 , Union Cabinet

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK