1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. GK Facts  |  

7 Countries which are not recognised by the United Nations

Jan 30, 2018 04:19 IST

    There are 193 sovereign countries in the world which are the members of the United Nations (UN). But do you know that there are some countries in the world which are not recognised by the United Nations Organisation (UNO), despite having their own National Flag, currency and territory? Some of them issue legal passport also. This article is explaining about such countries.
    Here are some nations that should be recognised as a country, but aren't.
    1. Sealand:-
    Official Language: English
    Establishment: September 2, 1967
    Total area: 0.004 sq km
    Currency: Sealand dollar
    Other facts: Sealand country is an elevated barge situated between Europe and United Kingdom. It resembles like a oil exploration centre. But actually it is a self independent country.
    This Sealand country is 13 Kilometer far from the British coastline and can be named as the world’s smallest sovereign country.
    In the year 1966 Roy Bates, a former British military serviceman, claimed his rule over it and named it the sovereign country.

    2. Christiania
    Official Language: Danish
    Established: 1971
    Total area: 0.34 sq km
    Currency: Danish Krone
    Total population: 850 people
    Other facts: Christina is also known as “Freetown Christiania". Christina is spread over a small part of Copenhagen (Denmark).Since its establishment in 1971, there have been differences between residents of Christina and the Danish government. Today this country is open to everyone and anyone can easily go here.

    chirstiania location

    3. Principality of Hutt River
    Official Language: English
    Established: 21 April 1970
    Total area: 75 sq km
    Currency: Hut River Dollar
    Total population: 30 full time residents,(13,000-18,000 overseas citizens)
    The Province of Hutt River is a micronation in Australia. This territory is located 517 km north of Perth near Northampton city in Western Australia continent. This state has its own currency, postage stamp and passport, but it is not recognized by the Australian Government or any other government.

    4. Murrawarri Republic
    Official language: Murarawari, Australian and English
    Establishment: March 30, 2013
    Total area: 81,000 sq km
    Currency: Australian Dollar
    Population: 3,500 people
    Other facts: The Republic of Murravya is a small country which separated its entity from Australia in 2013. This country is spread in a small area on the borders of New South Wales and Queensland.
    People from the Republic of Murravy had sought freedom from Queen of England and Prime Minister of Australia but their demand did not fullfilled. So the People from the Republic of Murravy had constituted a temporary council, whose chairman is Fred Hooper.

    5. Crimea
    Official Language: Russian, Ukrainian
    Total area: 27,000 sq km
    Currency: Ukrainian Ruble
    Total population: 2,284,000
    Other facts: Crimea is spread over an area of 27,000 square kilometers, located on the northern coast of the Black Sea. It is completely surrounded by sea and its terrestrial border meets only one country i.e. Ukraine. In 1783 Russia had occupied Crimea and annexed it into the Soviet Union. But in 1991 it became the part of Ukraine.

    6. The Republic of Lakotah
    Establishment: December 19, 2007
    Total area: 200,000 square km.
    Currency: US Dollar
    Total population: Around 10,000 people
    Other facts: It is located in the middle of North America. In 18th century, the residents of this area signed an agreement with American government which permitted them to live in the Black Hills, a place famous for gold production.
    Eventually in 2007 the residents of Lakota announced a formal withdrawal from the agreement and declared them an independent state and still fighting for their independence.
    republic of lakotah
    7. Barotseland
    Official Language: Lozi, English
    Total area: 3,68,823 sq km
    Total Population: 5,153,405
    Other facts: Barotseland is a region between Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Angola. It is the homeland of the Lozi people or Barotse. There are more than 20 tribes here.
    In the conclusion it can be said that all the countries mention above are very small countries whose territory is confined under the well recognised countries of the world.

    List of 10 most expensive and cheapest cities in the world

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below