GK Questions and Answers: Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is the intergovernmental permanent organisation created in 1996. At present SCO summit is going on in Kyrgyzstan capital Bishkek from 13 to 14 June, 2019. We published a set of 10 questions on the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation that is useful for many competitive exams.
SCO Summit-2019
SCO Summit-2019

1.  As of now how many members are in the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)?

(a) 7

(b) 8

(c) 9

(d) 10


Explanation: The founding members (5) of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) were China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan,Tajikistan. India and Pakistan officially joined this organisation in 2017. But as of now there are 8 members of the SCO.

2.  What is the other name of SCO?

(a) Shanghai Pact

(b) Tashkent Pact

(c) Beijing Pact

(d) Bishkek Pact

Answer: a

Explanation:  The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is also known as the Shanghai Pact.

3. Which of the following country was not the founding member of the SCO?

(a) China

(b) Kazakhstan

(c) Uzbekistan

(d) Russia

Answer: c

Explanation: The founding members (5) of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) were China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan. Uzbekistan joined the SCO in 2001.

4. Where is the headquarter of SCO?

(a) China

(b) Pakistan

(c) Tajikistan
(d) Russia

Answer: a

Explanation: The Headquarters of the SCO is in Beijing, China.

5. Which of the following statement is not correct about the SCO?

(a) The first summit of the SCO was organised in China

(b)  Official languages OF SCO are Chinese and Russian.

(c) SCO represents 40% of world population.

(d)  Sabyr Imandosov is the curent secretaty general of the SCO

Answer: d

Explanation: Vladimir Norov is the current secretary general of the SCO while Sabyr Imandosov is the Deputy Secretaries General of the SCO.

GK Quiz on Indian Economy (Service Sector)

6.  When was SCO established?

(a) 1985

(b) 1974

(c) 1996

(d) 1992

Answer: c

Explanation: The SCO was founded on 26 April 1996 by China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan.

7.  The main aim of SCO is to generate cooperation between member nations on:

(a) Resolving border issues

(b) Countering Terrorism

(c) Economic Cooperation

(d) All of the above

 Answer: d

Explanation: The main aim to establish SCO is to generate cooperation between member nations on:

1.  Resolving border issues

2.  Security concerns

3. Military Cooperation

4. Countering Terrorism

5. Intelligence sharing

6. Economic Cooperation

7. Cultural Cooperation

8.  Which of the following not matched correctly?

(a) Republic of Kazakhstan: Kassym-Jomart Tokayev (President of Kazakhstan)

(b) Kyrgyz Republic: Kokhir Rasulzoda (President of Kyrgyzstan)

(c) Islamic Republic of Pakistan: Imran Khan (Prime Minister of Pakistan)

(d) Russian Federation: Vladimir Putin (President of Russia)

Answer: b

Explanation: President of Kazakhstan is the Kassym-Jomart Tokayev while the Kokhir Rasulzoda is the President of Tajikistan.

9. Who of the following leader represented India at the SCO summit held in Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan)?

(a)  S. Jaishankar

(b) Narendra Modi

(c) Shushma Swaraj

(d) None of these


Explanation: PM Narendra Modi attended the current SCO summit held in Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan) on 13th June 2019.

10. How many SCO summits have been held till date?

(a) 10

(b) 13

(c) 16

(d) 19

Answer: d

Explanation: The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) 19th summit will be held in the Kyrgyzstan capital, Bishkek on 13-14 June, 2019.

500+ GK Questions & Answers on Indian Economy

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Categories