Padma Awards 2017 announced

K J Yesudas, Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev, Sharad Pawar, Murli Manohar Joshi and Prof. Udipi Ramachandra Rao are among the seven winners of the prestigious Padma Vibushan awards.

Jan 27, 2017 08:32 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

padma awards 2017 announced= The Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on 25 January 2017 announced the winners of the Padma Awards 2017. The list comprises of 7 Padma Vibhushan, 7 Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri Awardees.  19 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 5 persons from the category of foreigners, NRIs, PIOs and 6 posthumous awardees.

Top 300 CA eBook

List of Padma Vibhushan Awardees




K J Yesudas



Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev


Tamil Nadu

Sharad Pawar

Public Affairs


Murli Manohar Joshi

Public Affairs

Uttar Pradesh

Prof. Udipi Ramachandra Rao

Science & Engineering


Late Sunder Lal Patwa (Posthumous)

Public Affairs

Madhya Pradesh

Late PA Sangma



Public Affairs


To view the complete list of 2017 Padam Awardees, click here

About Padma Awards

• Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian Awards of India. The awards are conferred in three categories namely - Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

• The awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities including art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

• Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service, while Padma Bhushan is awarded for distinguished service of high order.

• Padma Shri honours are coneferred for distinguished service in any field.

• The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

• These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.


Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए