1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. World  |  

International Organization of the Francophone (IOOTF)

22-JUL-2016 15:49

    The International Organization of the Francophone [Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie (IOOTF)] is one of the largest linguistic organisation that represents those countries and regions where French is the first (Mother Tongue) or customary language.


    The organisation was created in 1970 with the motto of “equality, complementarity and solidarity”. Presently, it has 57 member states and governments along with three associate members and twenty observers. The main objective of this inter-governmental organisation is to promote the cultures of its members and intensify the cultural and technical cooperation among them as well as the solidarity and the connection between them through dialogue.

    Missions of the International Organization of the Francophone (IOOTF)

    • Promoting French language and cultural and linguistic diversity.
    • Promoting peace, democracy and human rights.
    • Supporting education, training, higher education and scientific research.
    • Expand cooperation for sustainable development

    Member States and Governments

    Observers State

    • Albania,
    • Principality of Andorra,
    • Armenia,
    • Kingdom of Belgium,
    • French Community of Belgium, Benin,
    • Bulgaria,
    • Burkina Faso,
    • Burundi,
    • Cambodia,
    • Cameroon
    • Canada
    • Canada-New-Brunswick,
    • Canada-Quebec,
    • Cape Verde,
    • Central African Republic,
    • Chad,
    • Comoros,
    • Congo, ,
    • Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo,
    • Djibouti,
    • Dominica,
    • Egypt,
    • Equatorial Guinea,
    • France,
    • Gabon,
    • Ghana,
    • Greece,
    • Guinea,
    • Guinea-Bissau,
    • Haiti,
    • Ivory Coast,
    • Laos,
    • Lebanon,
    • Luxembourg,
    • former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia,
    • Madagascar,
    • Mali,
    • Morocco,
    • Mauritius,
    • Mauritania,
    • Moldova,
    • Monaco,
    • Niger,
    • Qatar,
    • Romania,
    • Rwanda,
    • Saint Lucia,
    • Säo Tomé and Principe,
    • Senegal,
    • Seychelles,
    • Switzerland,
    • Togo,
    • Tunisia,
    • Vanuatu,
    • Vietnam.
    • Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina,
    • Costa Rica,
    • Croatia,
    • Czech Republic,
    • Dominican Republic, Estonia, Georgia,
    • Hungary,
    • Kosovo,
    • Latvia,
    • Lithuania,
    • Mexico,
    • Montenegro,
    • Mozambique,
    • Poland,
    • Serbia,
    • Slovakia,
    • Slovenia,
    • Thailand,
    • Ukraine,
    • United Arab Emirates, Uruguay.

    Operating agencies of International Organization of the Francophone (IOOTF)

    The International Organization of the Francophone (IOOTF) has five operative agencies for execution of the Organisational mandate. The five operative agencies are discussed below:

    • Association of Francophone Universities (AUF): It was established in 1961 in Montreal for the support of cultural and linguistic diversity, law and democracy, and the environment and sustainable development.
    • Assembly of Francophone Civil Servants of International Organisations (AFFOI): It was established in 2008 in The Hague to increase awareness about the importance of linguistic, cultural and conceptual diversity.
    • TV5Monde, the French-speaking international television: It is the first international French language television network and third largest television network after BBC and CNN. It provides wide access to original television programmes in French, and contributes to the development of the language and French-speaking cultures.
    • International Association of French-speaking Mayors: It was created in 1979 in Quebec City on the initiative of Jean Pelletier and Jacques. Its goal is to establish close cooperation in all areas of municipal activities for strengthening the local democracy, building municipal capacities, and to support the populations.
    • Senghor University of Alexandria: It is a private   postgraduate institution that train managers and high-level trainers in areas that are a priority for development in Francophone Africa.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK