Jagran Josh Logo

List of the Major Railways Zones in India

08-SEP-2017 16:20

    The Indian Railways is divided into 1 Zones and around 73 sub-divisional Zonal headquarter. North Zone is the largest Railway Zone of Indian Railways. There are three types of rail lines in India: Broad Gauge; Meter Gauge; and Narrow Gauge.

    Indian Railway Zone

    Here, we are giving the list of the Major Railways Zones in India which can be used as quick revision GK study material in the preparation of different competitive examinations is given below:

    List of the Major Railways Zones in India

    Railway Zone

    Zonal Headquarter


    Central Railway


    1. Mumbai
    2. Nagpur
    3. Bhusawal
    4. Pune
    5. Sholapur 

    Eastern Railway


    1. Howrah-I
    2. Howrah-II
    3. Sealdah
    4. Malda
    5. Asansol
    6. Chitaranjan

    East Central Railway


    1. Danapur
    2. Mugalsarai
    3. Dhanbad
    4. Sonpur
    5. Samastipur

    East Coast Railway


    1.  Khurda Road
    2. Waltair
    3. Sambhalpur

    Northern Railway

    Baroda House, New Delhi

    1. Delhi-I
    2. Delhi-II
    3. Ambala
    4. Moradabad
    5. Lucknow
    6. Firozpur

    North Central  Railway


    1. Allahabad
    2. Jhansi
    3. Agra

    North Eastern  Railway


    1. Izzatnagar
    2. Lucknow
    3. Varanasi
    4. DLW

    North Frontier  Railway

    Maligaon, Guwahati

    1. Katihar
    2. Alipurduar
    3. Rangiya
    4. Lumding
    5. Tinsukhia

    North Western Railway


    1. Jaipur
    2. Jodhpur
    3. Bikaner
    4. Ajmer

    Southern  Railway


    1. Chennai
    2. Madurai
    3. Palghat
    4. Trichy
    5. Trivendrum

    South Central Railway


    1. Secunderabad
    2. Hyderabad
    3. Guntakal
    4. Vijaywada
    5. Nanded

    South Eastern Railway

    Garden Reach, Kolkata

    1. Kharagpur
    2. Adra
    3. Chakradharpur
    4. Ranchi
    5. Shalimar

    South East Central  Railway


    1. Bilaspur
    2. Nagpur
    3. Raipur

    South Western Railway


    1. Bangalore
    2. Mysore
    3. Hubli
    4. RWF/YNK

    Western Railway

    Mumbai CST

    1. BCT
    2. Vadodara
    3. Ahmedabad
    4. Ratlam
    5. Rajkot
    6. Bhavnagar

    West Central Railway


    1. Jabalpur
    2. Bhopal
    3. Kota

    Kolkata Metro


    1. Kolkata Metro

    First train in India was started by Lord Dalhousie on April 16, 1853 from Bombay to thane (34 Kms). Indian Railways was nationalised in 1950 and presently, it is the largest Railway Network in Asia and second largest in the world. In the above list of the Major Railways Zones in India that will help the aspirants to attune and equipped for examinations like UPSC, IAS, SSC, CDS, NDA, Railways etc.

    Economic Geography

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    Newsletter Signup
    Follow us on
    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK