1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. GK Facts

7 Smallest Countries in the World

06-SEP-2017 18:25

    Country is a territory distinguished by its people, culture, language, geography etc. or in other words a country is a region identified as a distinct national entity. It consists of large number of area with huge population. Some nations are large and some are small depends upon the area. Even some countries are so small that some cities of other nations are big enough. These small countries have their own government, own culture; even some are richest in the world. Let us find out 7 smallest countries in the world.
    7 Smallest Countries in the World
    1. Vatican City

    Vatican City the smallest country in the world
    Area: 0.44 Km2
    Location: Europe
    Population: about 800 (2017)
    The Vatican City is the smallest country in the world. It is also known as Holy See. It is located in the city of Rome, Italy. It is the center of the Catholic Church. As, the biggest church St Peters Basilica in the world is resided here. World’s famous paintings and sculptures like The Pieta and The creation of Adam are featured here. The unique feature of this country is that it has no permanent citizens and the citizenship is given to those who work at Vatican only as well as their spouses and children and is revoked when they stop working there.
    The official language of Vatican City is Italian and Latin. In fact, it is the only city in the world whose ATM’s offer services in Latin language.
    2. Monaco

    Monaco smallest country
    Area:  2.02 km2
    Location: Western Europe
    Population: 38,036 (2017)
    Monaco is the second smallest country in the world. But do you know it is the home to billionaires and millionaires per capita in the world. It is located at French Riviera on the Mediterranean. From three sides it is surrounded by France and another facing the Mediterranean Sea. Its economy solely depends upon casinos and tourism. It is famous for gambling, luxury goods and service industry. The most popular annual event is Formula 1Grand Prix race.
    3. Nauru

    Nauru smallest country
    Area: 21 Km2
    Location: Australia
    Population: 10,308 (2017)
    Nauru is the smallest island nation of the world, located in the east of Australia. It is an independent republic and the only country without an official capital. It is also known as pleasant island. Earlier in 1980 it came into existence because of phosphate mining but now it is a silent island, leading 90% towards unemployment. Do you know that this is the country with most obese people in the world i.e. why it is the home to the world’s highest level of type 2 diabetes.

    10 Poorest Countries of the World
    4. Tuvalu

    Tuvalu smallest country
    Area: 26 Km2
    Location: North-East of Australia
    Population: 9981 (2017)
    Tuvalu is a Polynesian island nation located in the Pacific Ocean, North-East of Australia. It is also known as Ellice Island. Earlier it was British territory but gained independence in 1978. Its capital is Funafuti. Do you know in whole country only in one island i.e. Vaitupu secondary school is there. Its official language is Tuvaluan, English and Samoan.
    5. San Marino

    San Marino
    Area: 61 Km2
    Location: Europe
    Population: 32,131 (2017)
    It is also known as The Most Serene Republic of San Marino and is surrounded by Italy. It is the oldest surviving sovereign state in the world. The capital of this country is San Marino city itself. In terms of GDP per capita it is wealthiest.
    6. Liechtenstein

    Liechtenstein smallest country
    Area: 160 Km2
    Location: Between Switzerland and Australia
    Population: 38,022 (2017)
    It is the richest country in the world by GDP per capita and has lowest unemployment rate. It is the only nation in the world completely located in the Alps. It does not have any railway station and airport. Its official language is German.
    7. Saint Kitts and Nevis

    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    Area: 261 Km2
    Location: North- America
    Population: 56,780 (2017)
    Saint Kitts and Nevis full name is Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis. Its capital city is Basseterre. These were the first islands occupied by the Europeans. In 1983 Saint Kitts and Nevis gained full independence from United Kingdom. Its economy is dependent on tourism, agriculture and small manufacturing industries. English is the sole official language of Saint Kitts and Nevis but Creole is also widely spoken.
    From the above article we come to know about the seven smallest countries in the world by area, location, population, official language etc.

    Currencies of the World: Countries that have Rupee as currency

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK