1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. General Knowledge Lists  |  

List of Tournaments Organised by the ICC

Jul 18, 2018 18:04 IST
    List of ICC Tournaments

    The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the global governing body for cricket. ICC has two types of members’ i.e. permanent and Associate members. All the permanent members are allowed to play test cricket matches among themselves while Associate members don’t. Afghanistan and Ireland are the recent members in the permanent group. Now the total members under the permanent category are 12 while Associate members are 92. So in July 2018; the total membership of ICC is 104.

    The ICC makes rules regarding the ICC Code of Conduct, playing conditions, the Decision Review System etc. ICC keeps a vigilant eye on the practices of the corruption and match fixing through Anti-Corruption Unit.

    The ICC also appoints all match officials who organise all sanctioned international matches. The ICC is also responsible for the staging of all ICC Events.

    The list of tournaments organised by the ICC is as follows;





     ICC Test Championship

     Notional league (for Test rankings)

     ICC Intercontinental Cup

     Test league for associate members

     ICC World Test Championship

     Premier Test league (will start in July 2019)

    One Day

     ICC ODI Championship

     Notional league (for ODI rankings)

     ICC Cricket World Cup

     Premier ODI league

     ICC Women's Cricket World Cup

     Premier ODI league for women

     ICC Champions Trophy

     ODI league for Test-playing nations

     ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup

     Premier ODI league for youth

     ICC World Cricket League

     ODI league for associate members

     ICC World Cup Qualifier

     Qualifier league for teams ranked below 8


     ICC T20I Championship

     Notional league (for T20I rankings)

     ICC World Twenty20

     Premier T20 league

     ICC Women's World Twenty20

     Premier T20 league for women

     ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier

     Qualifier league for teams ranked below 8

    In the above list; you can see that Indian Premier League (IPL) is not mentioned in the list of the tournaments organised by the ICC. It means; the IPL is not organised by the ICC instead it is oraganised by The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). So the records made during the IPL matches are not included in the ICC record book.

    How Bowling Speed is calculated in Cricket Matches

    List of Indian Cricketers inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below