Facts about the Indian States & Union Territories

India has 29 states and 7 union territories. These all states are different with each other in terms of languages, climate, religion, customs, dressing and cousins, etc. Here in this single article Jagran josh is providing a plethora of information on all the states of India.

Created On: Feb 15, 2016 18:13 IST
Modified On: Feb 17, 2016 18:27 IST

India has 29 states and 7 union territories. These all states are different with each other in terms of languages, climate, religion, customs, dressing and cousins, etc. Here in this single article Jagran josh is providing a plethora of information on all the states of India.

India is divided in five Zonal Councils as per Part-III of the States Reorganization Act, 1956. The present composition of each of these Zonal Councils is as under:

1. The Northern Zonal Council: The North zone council comprises some states like:-

a. Haryana  has 21 districts presently. Haryana has the lowest sex ratio in the whole country at 877.

b. Himachal Pradesh is (known as "Devabhoomi") a state in Northern India. It was founded in January 25, 1971, with capital in Shimla.

c. Jammu & Kashmir have special autonomy under Article 370 of the Constitution of India. It is the first state of India, which has its own flag and constitution.

d. Punjab is located in the north west of India, is one of the most prosperous states of India. It is recognized as "Land of Five Rivers" such as Sutlej, Beas, Ravi, Chenab and Jhelum.

e. Rajasthan is India's largest state by area & it comprises of the most of the wide and inhospitable Thar Desert.

f. National Capital Territory of Delhi is the capital city of India It is second most populous city and second most populous urban agglomeration in India and 3rd largest urban area inthe world.

g. Union Territory of Chandigarh is a city that serves as the capital of the states of Punjab and Haryana.

2. The Central Zonal Council: Central Zonal Council comprises of 4 states like :-

a. Chhattisgarh is a state in central India. It is the 10th largest state in India.

b. Uttarakhand  It is located at the foothills of the Himalayan mountain ranges. The four most sacred and revered Hindu temples of Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri are nestled in this state.

c. Uttar Pradesh is the most populous state of India. It is the largest producer of sugarcane, sugar, wheat and potato in the whole country.

d. Madhya Pradesh is situated in the central region of India. It has the largest reserves of diamond and copper in India. It is the largest producer of soya beans in the country.

3. The Eastern Zonal Council:

a. Bihar  is an entirely landlocked state, although the outlet to the sea through the port of Kolkata is not far away. As per census 2011, it is most dense state of India.

b. Jharkhand  It is the top producer of iron ore, copper ore, kainite, mica and uranium (Jaduguda mines, Narwa Pahar).

c. Odisha has 485 kilometers of coastline along the Bay of Bengal on its east, from Balasore to Ganjam. Odia (formerly known as Oriya) is the official language. It is the biggest producer of manganese in India.

d. West Bengal is a state in eastern India and is the nation's fourth-most populous state, it is bordered by the countries of Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan. This state is most famous for Royal Bengal Tiger in Sundarvan.

4. The Western Zonal Council: The Western Zonal Council comprises of states and the Union Territories.

a. Goa :-It is India's smallest state by area and the fourth smallest by population. Goa is India's richest state.

b. Gujarat : - It is best known for the Asiatic lion. It has the biggest coastline in India.

c. Maharashtra is best known for its fast-paced capital, Mumbai. This sprawling metropolis is the seat of the Bollywood film industry. It’s also famed for sites like the British Raj-era Gateway of India monument and the cave temples on the nearby Elephanta Island.

d. Union Territories of Daman & Diu  Goa, Daman and Diu were incorporated into the Republic of India on December 19, 1961, by military conquest.

e. Dadra & Nagar Haveli Nagar Haveli is wedged between Maharashtra and Gujarat, whereas Dadra is an enclave 1 km NW, surrounded by Gujarat. The shared capital is Silvassa.

5. The Southern Zonal Council:  

a. Andhra Pradesh  It is called the Rice bowl of India. Hyderabad will remain the de jure capital of both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana states for not exceeding 10 years.

b. Karnataka is a state in south western region of India. The capital and largest city is Bangalore is known as the silicon valley of India.  It is also known as the land of sun rising Industry.

c. Kerala is a state in South India on the Malabar Coast. It is the largest Rubber producer state of India and the most educated state of India and a state of highest sex ratio in the country.

d. Tamil Nadu lies in the southernmost part of the Indian Peninsula. Tamil Nadu is the second largest state economy in India with (US$ 167.172 billion) in Gross Domestic Product.

e. Union Territory of Puducherry  It was formed out of four enclaves of former French India, namely Puducherry, Karaikal, Yanam and Mahe. It is named after the largest district Puducherry.

f. Telangana is a state in South India and one of the 29 states in India. It was formed on 2 June 2014 with the city of Hyderabad as its capital.


Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash

Related Categories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

0 + 5 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.